Does Gmail Call Phone Work on Surface?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Slick, Oct 30, 2012.

1. Slick

Slick New Member

I just returned my 1 day old Galaxy Tab 2 to Costco (no problem) because I could not access Gmail Call Phone. My feeling; If I can't access the online apps I want I might as well buy an Apple product. Thank you for any information you can provide, I'm new to this tablet thing, like one day.

2. Slick

Slick New Member

This question has been up for 7 days, 123 views and no answer or comment. This forum blows.

3. J515OP

J515OP Super Moderator

My Device:
    RT
    I have a feeling not many people are using this. Because it requires a browser plugin there is a good chance it won't work. You may have to wait for Google (or another developer)to put out an app if there isn't one already.

4. Slick

Slick New Member

Thank you for the reply, not definitive but at least some notice was taken of my post. I suppose the tablet crowd is mainly populated by people owning smart phones and the google call phone feature is of no interest. But for me it's a requirement for any tablet I would buy. Thanks again.

5. J515OP

J515OP Super Moderator

My Device:
    RT
    If I had one I'd test it for you since there is a desktop browser where plugins might work. Windows RT desktop is limited though so maybe not. Of course if you wait for the Surface Pro you will have this ability.

6. Slick

Slick New Member

This post has been up for three weeks and still no definitive answer. Has anyone tried making phone calls with their Surface? And, has anyone tried using gmail call phone?

7. jnjroach

jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

My Device:
    Surface Book