DP Port Daisy Chaining?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Alex Balcanquall, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Alex Balcanquall

    Alex Balcanquall New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have my SP3 working fine with a MiniDP to DP cable on a Dell U2713H monitor.

    I want to add a second monitor, the one I have is a DVI monitor. I tried plugging a DVI to DP adapter into the U2713H DP out - however the SP3 never seems to acknowledge the adapter.

    1) can one ever (irrespective of the SP3) plug an adapter like this into a DP chain?
    2) if one can is it expected to work in this config?

    Alex
     
  2. ynohtna

    ynohtna Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You need display port 1.2 compliant monitors. On my Dell u2413, I had to go into the menu to enable display port 1.2 mode

    Only Display port works, not dvi. My u2413 has a display port OUT port.
     
  3. Alex Balcanquall

    Alex Balcanquall New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I enabled the DP1.2 port mode - that will save headaches down the road :) (and yes the DP to DVI adapter still doesn't work - just as you indicated, guess I need a second DP monitor....)
     
  4. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    exactly what ynohtna said. i got a 1.2 compatible monitor but it wouldn't work at first but when i enabled it in the menu it worked
     
  5. Alex Balcanquall

    Alex Balcanquall New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, but the adapter is never going to work even once DP1.2 is enabled.
     
  6. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    No, but if you have a second DP 1.2 compliant monitor you will have no problem daisy chaining.
     
  7. Alex Balcanquall

    Alex Balcanquall New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know, I have a DP 1.2 monitor. This thread was about the ability to use the DP>xyz adapters.
     
  8. RottenMutt

    RottenMutt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ft Worth
    My Device:
    SPro3
  9. Nuspieds

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    A DP 1.2 monitor is only required at the beginning and intermediary points along a daisy chain; there is no issue using a DP 1.1 monitor as the last node in the chain.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
daisy chain surface book
,
daisy chaining dp
,

daisy chaining surface book

,
dp und daisy chaining
,
sp3 display port daisy chain
,
surface book chaining
,

surface book daisy chain

,
surface book daisy chain 2 4k monitors
,
surface book daisy chaining
,
surface book display port daisy chain