Emulating Mac OS x in vmware

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by nilsk123, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. nilsk123

    nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has anyone succesfully gotten mac os x to run in full screen in vmware? It runs fine, but i cant set it to the non standard resolution of 2160 by 1440, so i have black barts on both sides.

    Also its scaled to be reaaaaaally really small. It's workable but hmm.

    Has anyone fixed these issues?
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    One of the reasons why some prefer MacOS is, according to them, that it's more stable than Windows. So. Why one would want to run a more stable system from one that according to them, it's not so stable? ;) is not the end result unstable? o_O
     
  3. nilsk123

    nilsk123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have my reasons to want to run mac os x occasionaly.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I believe the license indicates it will only work on pure Apple Juice... nothing filtered or watered :D
     
  5. Lobo

    Lobo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yep, OS X will only run on VMware Fusion – on the Mac. VMware Workstation won't run it by default, unless you install a hack, which might be the reason you got through the installation routine at all. For some reason VMware feels a strong calling to heed Apple's license, so they limit it intentionally.

    Of course, OS X expects only to find specific Hardware, limited by the variations of Mac models.

    You might have to fiddle around with the virtual monitor adapter or install proper kexts. I tried the same with OS X Lion back in the day and all I remember is that it was a pretty sluggish experience, so I didn't pursue it much further.

    If your PC isn't totally out of the ordinary, you might just want to try installing it on a separate partition and run it kind of like Bootcamp backwards. I did that for quite a while and it ran nicely.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

emulating osx on vmware fusion

,
microsoft vmware osx
,
os x on surface pro 3 using vmware
,
running os x on vmware on surface
,

surface pro 3 vmware

,
surface pro 3 vmware mac os
,
surface pro3 vmware mac os
,
vmware for surface pro 3
,
vmware suface pro 3 screen resolution
,
vmware surface os x