What's new

EXE files

Imran

Hi all,

Sorry to sound like a noob but I'm not very technical with programs and stuff....

Can anyone walk me through the process of opening exe files (I hope that's the correct name!!). I am able to do it without an issue on my blackberry z10 device but the surface 2 says that it cannot open the file and asks me to try to do so with an app from the store. And I can seem to find any app in the store that does it!

Thanks

Imran

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
The Surface 2 will not run 3rd party .exe files and will only run Apps from the Windows App Store. The Surface 2 runs on ARM not on an Intel x86 CPU and runs Windows RT which is a locked down OS, restricting 3rd Party Applications to run in the Modern UI. It also makes the OS more secure and stable, but has no legacy application support.

OP
I

Imran

Actually its an Adobe Acrobat PDF format version 7 file.

Basically I'm trying to open up a bank document which I can do on my ThinkPad and z10 with no issues but not on the surface 2!!??

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
A PDF is a Document not a Program, in the Windows App Store there is an Adobe PDF Reader available plus many 3rd Party PDF Readers. Windows also ships with a PDF Reader called Reader.

OP
I

Imran

Yes I thought so too.... so shouldn't this file open automatically? Why is it saying I can't open the file?

leeshor

The file "might" open automatically IF you have an app installed that can open it. Did you read/follow post #6

kundas1

Then it must be another type of file... I have always been able to open PDF files with just the regular reader program on my S2 without needing to download another program...

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
I have reader and adobe touch installed from app store. Anything else??