Extended monitor only, but digitizer is still active

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by ChiGGz, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. ChiGGz

    ChiGGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto
    I've plugged in an external monitor to my surface and disabled the Surface screen. Noticing that the surface screen is off, but the touch capabilities are still active and they mimic the locations on the external monitor.

    Anyone else notice this?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  2. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You have duplicated rather than extended your screen, right? If that is the case, then it is normal.
     
  3. ChiGGz

    ChiGGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto
    As I mentioned, the Surface screen is off but the digitizer is on. Selected "Show desktop only on 2"
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  4. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Then everything is as it should be.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The Digitizer both Touch and Pen are separate from the Monitor and are Human Interface Devices (like Mice and Keyboards). They will be active unless you disable them from device manager or via the command line/powershell
     
    ChiGGz likes this.
  6. ChiGGz

    ChiGGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Toronto
    This makes total sense! Though, I'm guessing even if I disable it in Devices, the digitizer is still being powered, just with no functionality.

    I'm just thinking in terms of maximizing the battery when using external peripherals (KVM)
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Correct....
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

digitizer pen extended screen