Fall Update to 1709

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Afy, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. Afy

    Afy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Anyone installed it?
    Mine is downloading as we speak..
     
  2. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Looks like there is a new GPU Graph under the Performance Tab in Task Manager.

    Capture.JPG
     
  3. Aldec

    Aldec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Took 2 1/2 hrs to install on an SP4 Pro i7 using Update, riddled with faults, failing scannow and dism commands. Overloaded servers perhaps?
    Am in process of reinstalling using an ISO.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
  4. Afy

    Afy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mine took about an hour SP4 i7 16GB. No hiccups what so ever..
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am having some typical fit and finish issues.
    Seems trying to login after a sleep timeout the on screen keyboard wont popup. Have to switch users, then the keyboard comes up and have to enter username and password (no cameras allowed = no hello).

    Backspace and cursor movement in text boxes in Edge is erratic at best.

    Long pressing the Start Menu/Widows icon only shows the edge of the menu that should popup so can't access anything on the menu, same with the Taskbar. Note my Taskbar is on the right side not the bottom.

    Using my Surface in "Tablet Mode" I guess that's deprecated now since Surface is no longer the Tablet that can replace your laptop.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Regarding the installation process... It seems to download something, install it, then download a whole lot more and take a considerable amount of time installing that. I haven't timed it yet but of course that will be quite variable depending on the configuration of the system although I will likely do clean installs on both of my surfaces running 10.
     
  7. arcanux

    arcanux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Anyone can confirm that the on-screen Standard Keyboard Layout(the one with all the keys) is missing?

    I´ve updated a few hours ago and noticed that the option to select the standard layout is missing, either on the keyboard options or in general settings. Just reverted to the previous one as i use that layout all the time.

    I´ve noticed that the layout is accessible while on the lockscreen, as it uses the previous keyboard settings but when you log on, the option is removed and you got stuck with the new one, witch dont have the split keyboard(not needed on my end) and the standard layouts.


    Hope MS reconsider and bring back the option or someone can find a workaround to bring it back!

    Any confirmation would be appreciated!
     
  8. WiboS

    WiboS New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I installed it using the Upgrade Assistant. After a lengthy process the Surface crashed with a blue screen (memory management error). After a reboot the same blue screen appeared. Then it reverted to the previous Windows version. I guess I will wait a little more...
     
  9. Aldec

    Aldec Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    After my earlier botched Update attempt see my earlier post, have just spent (wasted) another 2 1/2 hrs doing an installation on my Surface Pro 4 i7 using the official MS ISO for a clean install, once again faults are recorded doing an sfc /scannow
    Two other computers a desktop and a laptop each having done the same Update are clean.
    Be interested if others would do both a scannow and Dism to find out if is just Surface Pro,s with this fault.
     
  10. Philtastic

    Philtastic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Updated in about 30 minutes without a hitch on my SP4 Core i5 256 GB. Seems to be running fine.
     
  11. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Update: Backspace and cursor movement issue was repoed and a bug filed.

    The other two issues have happened again and rebooting clears them up... So it wasn't a scaling change that causes the menu behavior... Likely a memory leak or sumptin [sic].
     
  12. aaminotti

    aaminotti New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    on i7 with 16gb of ram take 2hs. All works flawless but Im testing...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

azs

,
best cameras
,

news