Final Fantasy XIII plays great on my SP3!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Junwei, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. Junwei

    Junwei New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi,

    In case anyone is wondering how is gaming like on the SP3, i have the Core i5 256GB variant of the SP3. Recently, Final Fantasy 13 was released on steam for PCs at a very cheap price of $16 USD. (It was previously only available for playing on gaming consoles), so I bought and downloaded it to try it out. Note that the game requires 30GB of storage space.

    Amazingly, FF13 plays without lag on my SP3. I do not have the FPS rates, however it plays perfectly fine without jerkiness. Battle events and cut scenes run without a hitch. Note that the PC port of the game only allows you to play in 720p, nevertheless the graphics and cutscenes still look amazing. You may upscale the game to native resolution via a hack which can be googled, but that may negatively affect the FPS.

    Jerkiness only sets in when the CPU starts being throttled, which happens when playing while on battery with hot ambient temps. Playing with the power adapter plugged in seems to be fine though. While playing on battery with 40% brightness, I am able to achieve about 3.5 hours of gameplay.

    Best of all, if you do install it both on your home desktop and SP3, the save games are synced to the cloud via Steam, hence u can play with the PC and swap to the SP3 anytime and not lose any game progress.

    FF13 is an amazing game with beautiful graphics and storyline, it will provide you with endless hours of entertainment on your SP3!
     
    dleuen likes this.
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Can you play it from the microSD?
     
  3. Junwei

    Junwei New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Im not sure, dont have a microSD inserted. But the transfer speeds of the microSD are pretty slow, so loading times might take very long. Even on the SSD, every mini-chapter takes approx 10 secs to load.
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I think that mean endless cycles of two hours ;)
     
  5. Junwei

    Junwei New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I mistyped, it was more like 3.5 hours of battery life =P
     
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    30 Gb of SSD for 2 hours of play. Don't you think that is better to use the SP3 in some more productive tasks? I just saying.

    Anyway it's good to know that the SP3 is capable but from that to use it... Let's face it, it's not an optimal gaming device.
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    3.5 is better. But still lower than the lowest battery reported.

    What's the brightness white you are playing?
     
  8. Junwei

    Junwei New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    40% brightness. TBH its not meant for gaming on the go because once CPU throttling sets in, it gets jerky. More for casual gaming when u have access to power and the SP3 is the only machine you have. Like lets say in the airport in the transit lounge with an 8 hr transit time?
     
  9. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    But if you have a 8 hours transit time I would use the SP3 in something that will not eat the battery in 3.5 hours.;)

    Again, it's good to know all this data. Don't get me wrong.:cool:
     
  10. Junwei

    Junwei New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I meant having a power point while in the transit lounges... they always come with power points. Stop focusing on the battery lol.
     
  11. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Got your point, putting the SP3 on the leach!:p
     
  12. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My Girlfriend was amazed how good this game looked on my SP3...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i play final fantasy ix on a surface pro 3
,
can you play final fantasy 14 on surface pro 4
,

ffxiii surface pro

,
final fantasy running on surface 3
,

final fantasy xiii surface pro 3

,
how to get final fantasy on surface pro 3
,

surface pro 3 final fantasy xiii

,
surface pro 4 final fantasy xiii
,
surface pro case final fantasy
,
surface pro i3 final fantasy