Flight Simulator X on Surface Pro

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by TagsxA, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. TagsxA

    TagsxA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I was wondering if anyone on these forums have loaded and tried Microsoft Flight Simulator X on the surface pro? I picked up flight sim X for the desktop PC that my kids use, which has a 5-year-old video card and it runs beautifully on it. I have done some searching (on the internets as well as this forum) and haven't found anyone that has tried it on their surface pro.

    I'm not a PC gamer (anymore), and I really only plan on loading my emulators on the surface pro. I do, however, really like flight sim X and would really LOVE to play it on my surface pro if possible.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
  2. TagsxA

    TagsxA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I'll assume that no one has tried this yet. It looks like I'll be getting my surface pro this weekend, so I'll respond once I get a chance to install Flight Sim X on it and give it a whirl.
     
  3. prscarp

    prscarp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. The HD4000 chip in it handles itself pretty good on most games.

    You can take a look at this and see if its listed. At the time of posting this though, it seems like their site is having issues
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 Mobile - Games
     
  4. TagsxA

    TagsxA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Yeah I feel kinda stupid now...

    On the original thread that the link you gave me was posted on, I actually created a .txt file that was comma separated with all those games included. It wasn't until I started searching it (soon after you posted this), that I found MSX on there, saying it should work fine.

    Sorry for the wasted thread :(
     
  5. TagsxA

    TagsxA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I finally loaded FSX on my 128gb SP and it works beautifully! I played it for about 2 hours last night with my T Flight Hotas X flight stick. I was floored by how I could turn up the resolution to 1080p with everything on ultra and it still ran at 30-ish frames\sec. Near the end, I figured I'd plug it into my 47" 1080p TV and it didn't skip a beat. I know it's an older game and all, but wow am I impressed!
     
  6. Uncensored2008

    Uncensored2008 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California

    I haven't tried it, but I can't imagine it running well on integrated graphics.
     
  7. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Well apparently it works great (see post above yours) ;) Integrated graphics may not be the best for running hardcore PC games (which are intentionally developed to specs beyond what is currently available) but this particular game is pretty modest so I am not surprised at all by the result.
     
  8. MSFSX

    MSFSX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any heat issues on the surface?
     
  9. andrew.zaitsev

    andrew.zaitsev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi, has anyone tried the Flight Simulator X on the Surface Pro 2?
     
  10. TheJokker

    TheJokker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Some intergrated graphics are better than others. The HD 4000 (HD4400) is better than most.
     
  11. simonking

    simonking Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What detail settings did you set on FSX? Which service pack level?
     
  12. Maximus3D

    Maximus3D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The pure FSX should run just fine, however if you buy some newer highpoly addons with airplanes and landscapes, airports and such things which requires far more horsepower to run smoothly i suspect the Surface Pro 3 will show it's limitations.

    / Magnus
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

flight simulator for surface

,
flight simulator for surface rt
,

flight simulator on surface pro

,
flight simulator surface pro
,
flight simulator surface pro 3
,
flight simulator x surface pro
,

fsx on surface pro

,
fsx on surface pro 3
,
microsoft flight surface pro
,
surface pro 3 microsoft flight simulator x