focus frame at tiles

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Dozer12JK, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi since the update yesterday I got a focus frame around the top left tile.
    nice for keyboard use but not so nice on the SP3.
     
  2. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Wow! So much to learn. I haven't heard of a focus frame. What's that? Is it a tool that you can use?
     
  3. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    see by your self. I did not draw the white and black rectangle and I can move it from tile to tile via the cursor keys.
    upload_2014-8-13_16-35-41.png
     
  4. JesseDiaz

    JesseDiaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmm I did the update and Im not getting that...maybe its a setting in your EASE OF USE options?
     
  5. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I think you mean Easy To Access.
    I have it all off.
     
  6. JesseDiaz

    JesseDiaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmm.... we were both HALF RIGHT
    upload_2014-8-13_13-58-56.png
     
    Dozer12JK likes this.
  7. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If I'm on the start menu, and press a direction key, it highlights (focus) a tile; and subsequently, each adjacent tile moving up, down, left, right. If I use the touch screen and swipe, the focus disappears. Does the focus disappear when you swipe it? If it does, I wonder if the keyboard is sending an "up" signal, or the tablet thinks it is?

    Append: Have you rebooted, and/or re-attached your keyboard as a remediation attempt?
     
  8. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    exactly if I hit a space where no tile is or I just bump the screen a little up it is gone.
    But going to the app view and back will show the frame again.
    Also I can see it if I just press the Windows key.
    I see the focus rectangle on any screen menu everywhere this is a cool feature if you use a keyboard but not if I do use touch.

    Yes I turned it off and on again and even without keyboard it is present.
    I found out that all users on the Surface have the same issue so it is a computer wide setting.

    You can find a ton of articles if you search for focus rectangle remove but no solution.
     
  9. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You say all users have this issue. Do you mean this literally? Mine does not have a focused tile unless I press a key.
     
  10. Dozer12JK

    Dozer12JK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    sorry maybe I was not clear here. All windows users on my Surface can see the issue.
     
  11. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Gotcha. Thanks for the clarification. I wish I had another suggestion (short of a refresh which seems like overkill for a problem as small as this).
     
  12. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If the screen cursor is on a tile, a focus frame will appear, if you then use the keyboard right arrow key, the focus frame will move and will appear in a white border as you have shown. If you move it back to the original position it will appear in white as in your illustration. If you then move the cursor via the keypad for example to an area outside of the Metro apps and press enter, the white border will disappear, replaced by another focus frame color. If you then move it back to the app and then outside again it will totally disappear. If depends on where the default position of the cursor is. If you don't want a focus frame keep it away from the apps. However I am still puzzled by why this is a problem? It is meant to show you what would be selected if you press enter and is not to my knowledge abnormal behavior. Please explain otherwise.
     

Share This Page