For my RDP-using brethren

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by malberttoo, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I did a quick search and didn't see this posted anywhere else.

    I finally started using my SP3 a couple days ago for work stuff (network management, IT stuff...), and right away was not happy with trying to RDP into another machine or server.

    Long story short, because the resolution on the SP3 is so high, it would make the remote desktop brutally tiny. Very difficult and uncomfortable to use. Anyways, changing the resolution settings in the actual RDP client doesn't help, because all that does is change the size of the RDP window, but not the scale of the desktop itself.

    So I found this after a quick Google search, and it works great. It resizes the RDP desktop to something you can see much better. I have no idea how it does it, but "it just works". And, it's an awesome little utility if you frequently have to RDP into other machines!

    Hope it helps someone!

    Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=21101
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Old trick that I have been recommending. :cool:
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't know how I missed it! My colleague said "how did we not know about this"??
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    A wonderful tool if you have to connect to many machines. I have been using it for more than a year at work and I love it.
     
  5. laestrella

    laestrella Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8

    yes! this has been working well for me.
     
  6. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well like I said I have no idea how it fixes the scaling issue, but it is great.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Using mstsc.exe (The desktop RDP client) you can adjust the resolution

    RDP Display Config.JPG

    scaled rdp session.JPG
     
  8. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have those exact same settings. This is what I get.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    And why I can't I do nice embedded images like you're doing?
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Because you are choosing the thumbnail verses the full image

    thumb vs full surface forums.JPG RDP Full Screen Capture.JPG

    I get the same Windowed Screen that you get, just scaled better....
     
  11. Matt

    Matt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just tried this and your right its very good!

    Why cant the modern UI Remote Desktop App be as good?
     
  12. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes I was disappointed with it also, "nothing to see here, move along..."
     
    Matt likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3 rdp resolution