format or reset factory settings on RT

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by vxrich, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. vxrich

    vxrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi

    Can anyone tell me how to format or reset an rt to it original factory settings please? Having problems with the microsoft account and its come to the stage where Ive removed the account in the settings but the account seems to still exist when I restart the rt? So Im thinking starting from scratch would be the best way to go

    Cheers

    Rich
     
  2. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    Not 100% sure, since I have not done this yet on a Windows 8 let alone a Surface RT, but check Settings - Change PC settings - General and scroll down to Remove everything and reinstall Windows.
     
  3. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You may also be able to get a fresh install by doing an F8 on boot and choosing the restore option.
     
  4. compnovo

    compnovo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Washington State
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    If you type in "refresh" you will see under Settings "Refresh your PC" and "Remove everything and reinstall Windows".
     
  5. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    There is a power button form of this as well. Hold the power button when you see Surface displayed and then release when it when it restarts and then hold it again when you see Surface again. This will bring up the reset options. IIRC - did this the first night I had my personal unit.
     
  6. wilbur4321

    wilbur4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to settings on the charms (swipe from left), PC settings, General. Scroll to the bottom and choose the appropriate option.

    --randy

    Sent from Boards for Windows on Windows 8
     
  7. vxrich

    vxrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all of your help. Will doing this remove all of the accounts on the rt?
     
  8. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    Should be. Sounds like the equivalent to hard resetting your smartphone.
     
  9. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You might also want to get a 4GB USB key and put a copy of the recovery files on there. If something happens to the OS where you can't access the system or recover from boot it will be nice to have the recovery USB to boot from as back up. You can create the recovery USB from the control panel recovery options.
     
  10. surface_daddy

    surface_daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    does anyone else have used the USB option to format?

    i just bought the SB and i am not sure if should do a clean format or just a factory reset.

    i think when i use factory reset there will be many old temp data left somewhere in the system.
     
  11. Neil Clayton

    Neil Clayton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I would suggest you to back up the data onto a external USB drive and then reset the factory settings so that you won't have to worry about data loss.

    Regards,
    Neil Clayton
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
factory reset surface rt
,
how to factory reset surface rt
,
how to format surface rt
,

how to reset surface rt to factory

,
how to reset surface rt to factory settings
,

how to restore surface rt to factory settings

,
reset surface rt to factory settings
,
restore surface rt to factory settings
,
surface rt factory reset
,
surface rt reset factory settings