Game on Surface 3

Discussion in 'Surface 3 (Atom)' started by blakez1182, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. blakez1182

    blakez1182 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    The surface 3 can play the sims 3, 4 ?
    I'm wondering I should buy Surface 3 or wait to surface pro 4
    I really like surface 3 but the Intel is atom so... I'm don't know it's good or it's bad..
    I buy to play game, watch movie, and study !!
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It really depends what your main priority is. The surface 3 will play movies just fine, and will handy normal study work equally well (normal being Microsoft office, PDF files etc). If gaming is a real requirement, then while I cannot speak for the Sims games, on the whole, its just a no. Buy the pro line if you really want to game. It might not pay gta 5 but the surface pro 3 can play a lot more than the 3. I just installed Ori and the blond forest on both, and it was perfectly playable on the surface pro 3, utterly unplayable on the surface 3.
     
  3. TunaSurface

    TunaSurface Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
     
  4. jace88

    jace88 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    FWIW games from 10 years ago (e.g. UT 2004) run really well.
     
  5. gammanone

    gammanone New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I concur with the above Half-life 2 is very playable, however Starcraft 2 also runs well
     
  6. Kriton

    Kriton New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I play the following games on my surface and I am happy with them (getting very playable FPS):

    - League of Legends (low settings withs 1440x900 resolution)
    - Street Fighter IV (lowest settings on 1280 x 800 resolution)
    - Civ 5 (lowest settings on default resolution 1920x1280 I think. Lower resolutions mess up the touch interface or I would have preferred them)

    I am quite certain it will play sims 3 fine with no problems. All you might need to do is lower the visual settings to the bottom. Sims 4 might not be as playable though.
     
  7. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Bringing this thread up: has anyone measured the temperature on the back of the S3 while playing PC games ?
     
  8. gammanone

    gammanone New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    will check for you next time I play some games
     
    RémiM likes this.
  9. Clintro

    Clintro New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Mine gets a little warm when I play Solitaire so I imagine it will get pretty warm if your playing an processor intense game.
     
  10. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Processor management is the real deal.

    Very simple games sometimes use a lot of CPU because they are poorly coded. Kind of binary: 0% of CPU or 100% of CPU. Typically chess games. In easy mode, once the computer is doing a move, it uses 100% of the CPU. When it is your turn to play, the computer uses 0%. In hard/pro mode, the computer is always using 100% of the CPU, even if it is not his turn to play. Why ? Because it is "predicting" your next 1000000 possible moves and which strategy it has to use for each move, and bla bla bla. As a consequence, after 2 minutes, your device is hot like crazy, for no real reason.

    But not all the games are like that. Some are very well coded and use the right amount of CPU only when needed.

    Another "not perfectly" coded game is Microsoft Jigsaw Puzzle. Makes my device hot for no reason.
     
  11. Musiker

    Musiker New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Ive teested Wow in lightly populated areas and its absolutly possible to run it... But I would not show up for a progress raid :)... I don't have an active account.. So I've not ried anything real demanding on it.
     
  12. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Anyone playing Minecraft ?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i play games on the surface 3 forum
,
game on surface 3
,
games for surface 3
,

games on surface 3

,
microsoft surface 3 games
,
microsoft surface 3 run the sims 3
,
playable surface 3 games
,
surface 3 atom minecraft
,
surface 3 atom play league
,

surface 3 games