Solved Graphics Control Panel/Scaling/Overscan

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Slypig86, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. Slypig86

    Slypig86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So a few things to cover/investigate:

    1. When connecting to a TV via mini D-Port i get a good chunk of the screen cut off, normally would go into Intel HD Graphics Control Panel(Catalyst Control Center, Nvidia Control Panel, etc) to adjust this but there is no seemingly no way to reach these settings on the Surface Pro 3 as it stands. Is this in the works? Is there a work around?

    2. Also when mirroring or running a game off steam for instance in 1920x1080, there is a significant black border on the surface itself. Even bringing down the resolution from native to match the program still produces this undesired black border on the surface display. Will there be a way to scale up 1920x1080 resolutions to fit the surface's display? Is there a work around now?

    Thanks in advance for reading and responding. I'd really like to keep the surface but I feel like these kinds of lingering issues are pushing me towards a return unless a fix is on the horizon.
     
  2. Slypig86

    Slypig86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    New tip, thanks for the report. Marked it as solved.
     
  4. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Unfortunately, I'm having this same problem when connecting to an HDTV via mini-display to HDMI adapter. Tech support has been absolutely useless: they update my machine and even went so far as to suggest that I should refresh the device (losing all of my installed desktop apps) in order to confirm it's not a hardware malfunction. I've tried twice to explain to them that this is a video card driver issue and that all that needs to happen is that Intel needs to update their drivers so we have underscan/overscan or "scaling" options available.

    The link from OP is now broken. The issue persists. I think it's safe to say that this thread should not be marked "Solved" until such time as Microsoft and Intel put their heads together and release driver updates that address this issue.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    You can install the Intel Reference Driver (download the zip file) from Intel's download site, you will get the Control Panel and you can adjust your over-scan issue. Also, some HDTV have their own adjustments (my does) so I don't need to install the reference driver.

    Welcome to the community and doing the above allows this thread still be listed as resolved :)
     
  6. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks for the tip, do you have a link handy? I'm browsing Intel's site without much luck.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  8. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok. But won't the driver roll back the next time the machine updates?
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Hide the update - it will be listed as a System Hardware Update, of course the Firmware will over-write it so you'll download the newest when that happens...
     
  10. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok. I wish I could get that far. I've just spent the last half hour trying to manually update the driver. Each time, it tells me that the latest version of the driver is already installed. I tried first uninstalling the driver beforehand, but it seems to just reinstall itself. I'll post back here with some screenshots in a few minutes.
     
  11. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
  12. purist284

    purist284 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Actually, you know what? I don't like the idea of having to install drivers that are not certified for my hardware and subsequently have to hide official updates. I don't think that's any kind of solution at all. I think it's a straight forward issue of Intel updating their drivers for Surface. And I'm going to leave it at that. My experience with Microsoft technical support has been endlessly frustrating. I'm just hoping that someone with influence will see this thread and take it upon themselves to do something about this problem.

    If I'm doing something wrong, or overlooking something, I'm certainly open to suggestions/instructions. But it feels like alot of hoops to jump through to jail-break a Surface when the issue can be resolved by Intel and Microsoft without much effort.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
amd control panel how to adjust overscan
,
intel graphics control panel overscan
,
overscan surface pro 3
,
surface pro 2 overscan
,
surface pro 3 adjust overscan
,

surface pro 3 overscan

,
surface pro 3 underscan
,
surface pro 4 overscan
,
surface pro overscan
,
underscan microsoft surface