Help installing Intel HD Graphics Control Panel

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Cafole, Dec 20, 2015.

  1. Cafole

    Cafole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hi, I'm not sure if it's the proper place to ask this, but I need some assistance. I'm unable to find the Intel HD Graphics control panel, apparently it's not installed by default on the Sp's. I found this on reddit but his is a sp3. Whenever I try to update the hd 540 driver it says it's already up to the newest version (even if I'm trying to install a beta version). The driver's version seems to be 20.19.15.4326. Please help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  2. alexd88

    alexd88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I also want to know how to do this. When I connect an external tv the extended desktop is not fitting on the extended screen, i must resizing and only with intel control panel i can do it.
     
  3. Mike007

    Mike007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Download Intel® Graphics Driver for Windows® 7/8.1/10* [15.40]

    Download the .zip version of the above. Extract it somewhere and use the device manager - "have disk" method to install it.

    Ive used this one in the past but it seems to have random (display driver stops responding and has recovered) issues so bare that in mind.
     
  4. Cafole

    Cafole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That's the first thing I tried. But it keeps saying the driver is already updated and the control panel is still missing.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Remove the existing driver first....
     
  6. Nspyr

    Nspyr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Are the drivers that come with the SP4 faulty?
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Original ones had issues, we are now running the same version as the Beta referenced above, but some people want to use the Intel Control Panel which is not in the Surface Optimized version...
     
  8. Mike007

    Mike007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    What I find weird is the Intel beta drivers will randomly freeze up my surface during certain video streaming like YouTube or twitch and sometimes using simple desktop applications. However, the Microsoft version of the same driver has been rock-solid.

    So I've stuck with that one now. Not too bothered with the control panel myself.
     
  9. btreece

    btreece Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro4
    SP4_Graphics_Drivers.png

    I have the SP4, i5, Intel HD Graphics 520 noted above.

    My pet project since I have bought it is to get the MS Windows 10 Maps App to show the roads.
    Maps App.png

    This issue occurs when in "Roads" view mode NOT "Aerial" view mode. From postings, I know this issue also affects Intel HD Graphics 515 (on m3 SP4).

    Can you check for me to see if this affects your Intel HD Graphics 540 as well?
    This issue is 60 days old with both Microsoft and Intel saying "Working on it...", but just wanted to figure out the issue's scope! It would help me out alot!

    Thanks!
     
  10. starstreak

    starstreak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well I dloaded the .exe for win10 64bit. I went to device drivers and uninstalled the video drivers and I ran the .exe and it said I didn't have the right one. I did the same steps but after uninstalling I rebooted and then tried to run the .exe file. same issue.
     
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    .exe will never work, it will only work if you download the zipped version, extract to the folder and then manually update via Device Manager.
     
  12. starstreak

    starstreak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That worked. Thanks. Shoot. Fallout 4 still not loading. I wouldn't mind just playing it at 1080x720 or something at 20fps. Just want to edit stuff. Lol
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how install intel hd graphics control panel
,
how to install intel hd controll panel
,
how to install intel hd graphic control panel
,
how to install intel hd graphics control panel
,

i want to install intel hd graphics control panel

,
install intel graphics control panel
,
inte graphic control panel for surface pro 4
,
intel hd graphics control panel not installed
,
intel hd graphics panel microsoft net
,
surface 2 run intel control panel