Home group password doesn't work

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by thervitguy@ymail.com, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. thervitguy@ymail.com

    thervitguy@ymail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, California (Sacramento)
    My Device:
    RT
    Hi there,

    We just purchased our surface RT and love it. However, when we try to hit our pc on the home group, it tells us the password is incorrect. The machine name is moms-pc and the user name is mom. We know the password for sure, as we have to enter it on our laptop. Does anyone know why homegroup connections to a windows 7 pc might not be working?

    Thanks! Eric
     
  2. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Just off the top of my head (I've been searching for similar topics recently) I've read that the Surface can have problems connecting when the name has a character which isn't a letter. Maybe try knocking the hyphen out of your 'moms-pc' :)
     
  3. thervitguy@ymail.com

    thervitguy@ymail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, California (Sacramento)
    My Device:
    RT
    Thanks, I'll give that a try! By the way, congrats from the colonies on the latest addition to the royal family! :)
     
  4. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You may also want to think about resetting your router. Sometimes I have found that resetting my router helps to somehow reset the network between my machines at home. For example, I have found that sometimes my desktop does not recognize my RT on the Home Network and also the HomeGroup does not work (like what you are experiencing). I then reset my router and both the desktop and the router can see each other on the home network and the HomeGroup stuff also works. Why this happens, I don't know.
     
  5. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Thanks [​IMG] though I'm looking forward to the TV returning back to normal, bored of this 'news' lol...
     
  6. thervitguy@ymail.com

    thervitguy@ymail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, California (Sacramento)
    My Device:
    RT
    It turned out that the problem was my lack of familiarity with Home Groups. I was still trying to gain access to this Windows 7 machine in a way similar to the way that I do it with my Windows Vista Laptop.

    Now, I understand that there is a Home Group passkey/password. Once I entered that passkey, I was good to go!

    Thanks for the help!
     
  7. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Just want to add another problem in here rather than make a new thread... my desktop PC keeps deleting itself from my HomeGroup. However, I'm still able to access the PC and all it's files through just normal clicking on explorer etc. any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
homegroup not working on surface pro 3
,
homegroup password didn't work
,

my homegroup password wont work

,
passwor wont work on surface
,
surface homegroup password problem
,
surface rt homegroup password
,
that password didn't work homegroup surface
,
why doesn't the home group password work?