How best to migrate Surface pro 4 to Surface Pro 5

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by bjprice, Aug 3, 2019.

  1. bjprice

    bjprice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    On my SP4 I've made two image backups: one of my 1809 C:\ drive and one of the whole disk including the 'hidden' partitions. (I used Easeus backup)

    How best to migrate to SP5 - migrate the whole disk with hidden partitions or just my C:\drive?

    Either way, I'll then do a driver update but I'm wondering whether Microsoft Update also updates the hidden partitions if I choose to restore my entire SP4 disk to SP5.

    At some point I'll update to 1903 but not yet.

    Thank you for your advice.
     
  2. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    You most likely don't want to get this advise, but I wouldn't do it at all. Why would you want that? Store your data on OneDrive and just make a fresh start.
    This migration can almost only lead to all sorts of weird problems
     
    sharpuser likes this.
  3. bjprice

    bjprice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    If only it were that simple. I've got lots of programs as well as the stuff I've created. It's really burdensome to install them all from scratch.
     
  4. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    @bjprice,

    You can probably save much trouble by putting those software installation files in a OneDrive folder. That way, you can re-install without using the original media for most titles.
     
  5. bjprice

    bjprice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm missing something. You're suggesting I copy all the installer files to OneDrive and then run them from there rather than just run them directly from my CDs or downloads. I just don't see that as particularly efficient.

    But thanks for the suggestion.
     
  6. Plantje

    Plantje Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    @sharpuser He wants to go from "installed on SP4" to "installed on SP5". I think that would even be very hard when going from SP4 to SP4

    Most likely it is going to cause you more trouble than time saving. You should regard configuring a new tablet as unwrapping a gift :)
     

Share This Page