How do I completely, totally turn off Cortana - Desperately seeking battery life

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Forum' started by GreyFox7, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I disabled Cortana but she still is the Top CPU user on the system. How do you completely, totally, permanently kill Cortana?

    Earlier today after turning off Cortana I took this screen shot showing Cortana resource usage.
    App History.PNG

    and later... it's still consuming resources.

    Cortana2.PNG
     
  2. revmike

    revmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hanford, CA
  3. revmike

    revmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hanford, CA
    Apparently that does not work Cortana still pops up in task manager, using memory.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Exactly.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You may want to check this

    Cortana - Enable or Disable in Windows 10 under the Group Policy Editor section.

    I don't know what made your Cortana act up like that. Mine doesn't but I have no idea what I may have done that caused it not to be a problem.
     
  6. revmike

    revmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hanford, CA
    Did that and it still shows in task manager. I did try something that I found on Microsoft forum where you added (.bak) to the end of the Cortana file name, that worked but you could no longer bring up a search window.
     
  7. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just got Halo 5 and Cortana is suggested as being Evil.. (though I'm sure she won't be as the story plays out) I wonder if this is why...lol

    Haven't noticed anything like that with my SP3.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
disable cortana completely
,
how do i turn cortana completely off
,
how do turn off cortana completely
,
how to disable cortana completely
,
how to turn cortana off completely
,
how to turn off cortana completely
,
kill cortana completely
,
turn cortana off completely
,

turn off cortana completely

,
turn off cortana permanently