How to increase Graphics Card Shared Memory

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Marco Wittwer, Nov 30, 2014.

  1. Marco Wittwer

    Marco Wittwer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    Is there a way, how to managed the shared memory size of the GPU of my Surface Pro 3 i7?
    In Bios I cannot find a such setting.

    Thank you
    Marco
     
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Pretty sure there isn't.
     
  3. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    This isn't something you can change, and it's not something you would want to.

    It's a tablet, not a gaming rig, and more memory to the GPU won't help it to play games.
     
  4. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    Dont understand the need in trying to make the SPro a gaming rig. I understand it has as some power, but not enough to replace a desktop gaming rig or even play some heavy GPU-intensive games.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  5. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Intel Haswell processors, like those in the Surface Pro 3, support up to 1.7GB of shared graphics memory.

    For example: http://ark.intel.com/products/75122/Intel-Core-i7-4770-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

    Certain UEFI/firmware/BIOS from other PC manufacturers like Dell and HP allow you to set the minimum reserved RAM (carve-out) such as 64MB, 128MB, 256MB, 512MB etc. however, this setting has no bearing on the maximum. Typically setting the minimum carve-out is best for overall performance as then the OS and applications can determine whether it is better to use that RAM for graphics purposes or general purposes.

    If your applications are hitting memory errors on Intel Haswell, there may be other workarounds available, but you'll have to be more specific to allow others to help.
     
  6. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just want to put it out there that the 4770 is a much more capable CPU than the ultrabook CPUs you find in the Surface line.
     
  7. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Indeed. Intel doesn't even specify the max graphics ram for the mobile series processors like: http://ark.intel.com/products/76308 but I believe it is still 1.7GB on those too.

    Related is the WHQL requirement for memory on MSDN:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/jj128256.aspx
    See: "System.Fundamentals.Firmware.HardwareMemoryReservation" if you want to understand the rationale and requirements for limiting the default memory reservation in Windows.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014
  8. Hingle McKringleberry

    Hingle McKringleberry Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The application will use what it needs.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What did you have in mind? Limiting the memory used or increasing the memory used.
    Generally it's dynamic and will adjust according to the need.
     
  10. silkrooster

    silkrooster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have found a bug or I think it is anyway. If you run photoshop and illustrator at the same time, you will get an error low on video card memory. Both apps require 512MB of video ram. When you restart the surface and run only photoshop for example in its system information it will show more than a GB of video ram (sorry I don't recall the exact number, just that it is enough to handle both)
    I believe this is an Adobe bug in that it is not dynamically handling the video ram.
    Most apps that use GPU for rendering will require a fair amount of video ram.
    So this is not always a gaming issue.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to increase video card memory on tablet
,
increase surface pro 2 video memory
,

increase tablet shared memory to gpu

,
surface pro 1 only 32mb
,
surface pro 3 graphics memory setting
,
surface pro 3 increase gpu
,
surface pro 4 change video memory
,
surface pro 4 improving graphichs card
,

surface pro 4 video memory

,
surface pro increase graphics memory