how to slave a surface pro to a desktop like a cintique?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by adecoy95, May 10, 2013.

  1. adecoy95

    adecoy95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i enjoy the pros ability to stand on its own, but sometimes i just want it to connect to the desktop either wired or wireless so that i can use it like a Cintiq display, does anyone know a way i can do this?

    for those that dont know exactly what a cintiq is i basically want to use the tablet as a sort of remote desktop, so that while im working on something on my desktop i can just pick up the tablet, and start using the pressure sensitive pen and draw on the tablet and it will affect whatever is on the pc, if that makes any sense.

    thanks for any suggestions!
     
  2. magicrobots

    magicrobots New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pretty sure it's impossible, although maybe wacom will come out with drivers that allow it. The tablet can't be put into "mouse mode" so it will never reach your extended desktop. Maybe it you just turned on mirroring it could essentially work the same way on your external monitor?
     
  3. Codevine

    Codevine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, you could turn on screen mirroring, so you'll see the same on your desktop monitor and the surface pro. You should be able to draw on the Surface, but also see everything on your desktop and use keyboard shortcuts 'n stuff. I've heard someone tried this before and it worked.
     
  4. adecoy95

    adecoy95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, ill try screen mirroring, how do i turn that on?
     
  5. Codevine

    Codevine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right click on desktop -> Screen resolution. You should 2 screens there, and a dropbox list "Multiple displays." Select "duplicate these displays" and you should see the same on both. Can't try it out myself, don't have a Surface Pro yet. :(
     
  6. adecoy95

    adecoy95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    aaah i dont have any wires just yet, but i will try and pick up an emulator that will use my network and see if i can get it to work ill report back if im successful!
     
  7. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Expensive dinner, some wine and Barry White...
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. drksilenc

    drksilenc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try stardock multiplicity. if you use the paid version it links the computers.
     
  9. adecoy95

    adecoy95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the site says it emulates keyboard and mouse between computers, will it also do a stylus (with pressure)?
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
  11. adecoy95

    adecoy95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it dosent look like that setup applies to the stylus

    here is an image i found that might help better explain what im trying to do

    http://www.schrein06.abk-stuttgart.de/aaa.jpg

    thanks for all the help sofar tho im still looking into all the softwares and stuff linked, nothing seems to be quite what im looking for tho
     
  12. Codevine

    Codevine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Screen mirroring should be exactly like that (you'll see the exact same on surface/Desktop Monitor though). Just gotta connect your Surface Pro via the mini-displayport.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i use surface pro 2 as a cintiq like device

,

can you hook up a surface to use as a cintiq

,
how to slave a windows tablet
,
how use surface pro to control another computer
,

surface pro a slave tablet to desktop

,
surface pro as input device
,
use surface pro as a second monitor
,

use surface pro as input device

,
use surface pro as input device to pc
,

using surface pro as a cintiq