How to trim down disk space on my SP2 64GB?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Ramirez, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. Ramirez

    Ramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I just introduced myself and now I´m writing my first question :D

    I got my SP2 64GB really cheap as the stores get rid of their "old gear" though an web outlet.
    That´s why I haven´t purchased the SP3 or SP2 with larger disk space. I got it for about 60% off the original price.
    I also got an ASUS Transformer Book Flip TP500 where I can have games and stuff that takes more space.

    But here is the riddle I´m trying to solve:

    I would like to keep my SP2 for my "paper" need which means I´m going to use OneNote a lot.
    I also would like to use my SP2 for:
    - email and calendar functions
    - Netflix
    - Some painting with Fresh Paint
    - News reading etc.
    - Office off course as I use OneNote, I´ll use word etc too.

    Thats it! I want to keep my SP2 as my travel mate for those things, maybe the only game I need is Solitaire but that´s about it.

    So here is the question:

    - How can I trim it down to get out most space possible from the tiny 64GB SSD? To make it possible to upgrade to Windows 10 when the time comes?
    - What can I move to a micro SD card?
    - Which "standard" apps can I uninstall (those that I don´t need from my description above)?

    I have been in the Apple camp for a long time so I´m asking guidance from you Surface-Yodas on this forum :)
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Move Libraries to a second drive (sd card)
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/2079571/move-your-libraries-to-a-second-drive-or-partition.html

    Change Default save locations
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/customize-a-library

    Redirect Downloads folder
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/redirect-folder-new-location#1TC=windows-7

    Change Default Download location
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/internet-explorer/download-files#ie=ie-11

    Remove Unwanted Programs
    Swipe from right, Settings, Change PC Settings, search and apps, app sizes
    Select and uninstall any you done want

    Run Disk Cleanup
    Open Explorer on the Desktop, Touch and hold C Drive, Properties, Disk Cleanup button on the General Tab. After it opens Use the Cleanup System Files button. Not all options will be selected by default but you can check them to cleanup more space.
     
    leeshor and Ramirez like this.
  3. Ramirez

    Ramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you so much!
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015
    Ramirez likes this.
  5. New2ToMe

    New2ToMe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What I did and I think this would also be the most simple idea is to use the Media Image .iso file that msoft has recently made available. I bought two SP2s not long back and both were Asian variants and I was unable to download the replacement drive images locally from the US. I bit the bullet and tried the .iso file as they were new, still with msoft warranty and no important stuff of mine on them. If I bricked with the .iso then msoft would fix it.

    My SP2 is 128G but even so, the OS was taking up 39G. After running the .iso install it was down t 16G and now, maybe three months later with a lot of stuff installed, it is still only at 24G.

    Start here...
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/create-reset-refresh-media

    A side benefit I got was that Windows is now shows as US variant with the local phone numbers for help etc., instead of the Asian, Russian ones they came with.
     
  6. Ramirez

    Ramirez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    :D:D:)
    What you wrote is what I found myself doing after all :)
    When I thought about it really it was strange that the OS should take up so much space.
    Sometimes when I shut down my SP2, the text came in two languages.
    I didnt have to much stuff on it either and the free disk space was under 20gb already.
    I did a full factory reset and voila; I got much more space free!

    It seemed like the OS used two languages.

    Now I even installed Steam on my 64gb SP2 :D but it is of course on D: and the Steam library goes to D: too.
    I am gonna enjoy some Civilisation (V & Beyond Earth), these games are nicelly optimized for the touch interface.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface3 trim down