What's new

How's Your New Power Cover Working?

Sir Face

I am wondering if the owners of the new Power Cover are really liking it, are you finding issues that you don't like?
I got mine late today, and I'm just beginning to start playing with it. One strange little quirk I'm already seeing though, is the fact that that if I've got a full 100% charge on the Surface's internal battery, seems like the Power Cover's battery doesn't want to take a 100% charge. The indicator light in the charger cable goes off, indicating a full charge, I would assume, yet when I check it, it shows that the Power Cover has somewhat less than a full charge, say 60% or so. I wonder why it's doing this and if this is a problem with the Power cover itself?

mennogreg

I am wondering if the owners of the new Power Cover are really liking it, are you finding issues that you don't like?
I got mine late today, and I'm just beginning to start playing with it. One strange little quirk I'm already seeing though, is the fact that that if I've got a full 100% charge on the Surface's internal battery, seems like the Power Cover's battery doesn't want to take a 100% charge. The indicator light in the charger cable goes off, indicating a full charge, I would assume, yet when I check it, it shows that the Power Cover has somewhat less than a full charge, say 60% or so. I wonder why it's doing this and if this is a problem with the Power cover itself?

Give credit where credit it due. At least the Surface and its accessories are consistent!

drolem

it shows that the Power Cover has somewhat less than a full charge, say 60% or so. I wonder why it's doing this and if this is a problem with the Power cover itself?
One possible reason is overheating -- if the SP2 or the battery is hot enough, it will stop charging.

Of course a more likely possibility is a FW bug.... :p

OP
S

Sir Face