Solved I need your help

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Kif, Sep 4, 2014.

?

Does your taskbar become persistent if you untick 'Animate Windows when minimizing and maximizing"

  1. Yes

    33.3%
  2. No

    66.7%
  1. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    As I've mentioned on another thread I'm having an issue where my taskbar is persistent and it never hides even on the start screen and using Metro UI apps. I know the cause of it but I don't know if it's isolated or it affects all Windows 8.1 tablets. Please try going to System --> Advanced System Settings --> Advanced --> Performance Settings --> Disable "Animate windows when Minimizing and Maximizing."

    After that see if your taskbar becauses persistent and answer my poll. Don't worry if you re-enable the setting the taskbar will start working properly again. I can't leave it enabled because it's not compatible with Citrix Receiver client which I use for work.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I corrected one word in your poll title - because to become. Hope that's what you meant.
     
    Kif likes this.
  3. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    thanks!
     
  4. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    No it doesn't mate. It stays whilst my cursor is on the taskbar but as soon as I move it away it disappears.
     
  5. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh dang, that's not what I wanted to hear. Thanks for checking.
     
  6. guymalloc

    guymalloc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Nope, doesn't stay on my SP1 either. I seem to remember it did at one time, but a windows update killed it, I think....

    Edit: I changed the setting, and to my amazement, the taskbar DID become persistant after a reboot. Changed it back, and taskbar was no more on Start screen!!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2014
  7. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Happy to say the latest round of updates cleared up my issue.
     

Share This Page