What's new

I5 neccesary ?

madde90

Hiho,
I'm new here and I have a question:
Next week I want to buy the sp3 with i3 but I don't know if its enough for especially cs:go and world of Warcraft.
I'm studying pharmacy in Germany and I think i3 is enough for office and annotating etc.
I just want to know, if anyone has already tried cs:go on i3 an can tell me how it's working. Benchmarks aren't interesting for me.

Thanks a lot guys / girls !

kundas1

no def not! you will be better to go with the i5 model if you intend to do ANY GAMING.. also what is cs:go? is it a game? is it an app?

OP
M

madde90

Counterstrike global offense is a game. But so many people write about throttling their CPU to the same MHz like i3.

daniielrp

Considering there is no graphical hardware improvement between the i3 and i5, I'm not sure how you benefit from a simple processor upgrade. Couple more fps? Possibly.

But games normally need space, and memory, so getting the i3 which is limited in both would be my main concern rather than the processor.

msolok

Counterstrike global offense is a game. But so many people write about throttling their CPU to the same MHz like i3.
There was an issue with the firmware at launch that caused the surface to incorrectly report as overheating. This has been fixed in a firmware update.

All the CPU's in the SP3 throttle in order to reduce heat. This is simply something that all processors will do. But MHz is not the only, or even the best, measure of avCPUs performance. Other things come in to it as well.

Also, for games you also need to consider the GPU in the device. The i3 models have the Intel HD 4200, the i5 has the Intel HD 4400, and the i7 has the Intel HD 5000. The HD4400 and HD5000 are better for gaming than the HD4200. Couple that with 8GB of RAM in the higher spec i5 and you are about where you want to be.