i5 Surface Pro upgrade to i5 Surface Pro 3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by MMU, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. MMU

    MMU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Anacortes, WA
    I've had the original Pro since initial release and it has been a reliable everyday and travel workhorse. I use it mostly in tablet mode and with some difficulty (and the pen) use PS3, Canon's RAW converter, MS Word, MS Excel, etc. but it's really best when using the metro apps which are touch-screen enabled. It will become unstable and need a re-boot if I have lots of apps open and lots of tabs in metro IE.

    Upgrading to the same spec Pro 3, what will I notice most?

    Obviously, I'll have more screen real estate. Does this help functionality much? I run out of room when using the on-screen keyboard on the Pro 1.

    Will the Pro 3 be more stable? Quicker?

    Any other differences worth mentioning?
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I know it's not what you want to hear right off the cuff, but there is so much discussion on this board about this same topic!

    The first point I want to make though is that if you're totally happy with your existing device, then probably a refresh/reinstall is in order, assuming you haven't yet done that.

    Other than that... I personally was in the exact same situation, went from Pro 1 to Pro 3. Completely better experience. Number 1, form factor. The 3:2 display is the sweet spot for me, 16:9 IMHO is terrible on a tablet. Number 2, Overall larger, thinner, lighter. The Pro 1 never replaced anything of mine, as badly as I wanted it to. The Pro 3 replaced my laptop after 2 weeks.

    I have the i5 8GB RAM, and have never seen a single performance issue on it, including Office, music notation, many tabs open in browsers, multiple Remote Desktop windows open.

    Quite simply, I think Microsoft finally got on the right track.

    My .02
     
  3. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You will see a lot more on the screen, as it's both bigger and higher res. Performance will be a bit better, but the main draw doubling, or perhaps even more than doubling your battery life.

    I also really noticed the thinness.
     
  4. MMU

    MMU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Anacortes, WA
    Thanks for the feedback! I think I'll be upgrading very soon. I do wish they offered 8MB ram with the 128GB SSD (because w/cloud services 128GB is all I need).
     
  5. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    I bet it's an awesome upgrade! Unfortunately I can't really afford to do the same at the moment... bring on the Surface Pro 6 :D
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 4