icon issue

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by stevenrossvanduyn, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. stevenrossvanduyn

    stevenrossvanduyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Sometimes when i startup or go into desktop mode i find my icons are moved around
    Very annoying
    How to stop this from happening
     
  2. Jasmine

    Jasmine Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I actually noticed this 2 or 3 times with my first SP2. Ended up returning it and waiting for them to restock.
    I honestly have no idea how to solve it, but hopefully someone else does.
     
  3. Dayton

    Dayton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Size of icons, align or auto? I use small with align to grid, icons have always remained as I've left them.
     
  4. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This could happen if at some point there was a resolution change. If the resolution changes to lower than what the icons are layed out to, they will be repositioned to fit the new resolution. Some applications will change resolution, like games. I have starcraft 2 changing resolution to 720p. If this is the issue you are having, you can make sure to keep your icons in the upper left so they keep withing the lower resolution as well.

    Or it could be some other weird thing :)
     
  5. jackh

    jackh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do a Google search for this little utility called ICONOID --been using it for years--It will keep your Icons where you put them and has a few other nice features..

    Jack
     
  6. jollywombat

    jollywombat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY, USA
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Yah, anything that changes your full screen resolution can cause this like games, using external monitors, etc.
     
  7. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You might want to consider pinning the majority, if not all of your icons on the taskbar.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 2 device icons