IE - App vrs Desktop version

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Sit, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. Sit

    Sit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    3rd rock from the Sun, US, Ohio.
    In the desktop version of IE on the surface pro, I can mouse down on a tab and reposition or reorder it amongst all the tabs displayed. In the app version of IE, I can't figure out how to reorder the tabs. Can it be done or do I have to open them in the order I need them?

    Thanks.
     
  2. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    I've tried to reorder the Mod-IE but couldn't find the method. From what I can tell from all the tries, there's no way to reorder them.
     
  3. Nuspieds

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Uggh! Tell me this is not true! :(

    Though it is not the end of the world, these annoyances are unnecessary and just causes increased frustrations. Why would they not duplicate the functionality that exists in Desktop IE? That's from where people will be migrating, so of course they are looking to do/use what they used to do/use in Desktop mode.

    I, for one, am transitioning to the Modern UI as much and as soon as I can; when I find an equivalent Modern UI app in the Store that provides the functionality I had in Desktop mode, I get that app. But in the case of IE, for example, it makes it very difficult to transition to that app because of obscurities like this, lack of Favorites management, etc. Consequently, I still use Desktop IE 99.999% of the time. That's very unfortunate, because I really like the browsing experience (swiping left/right for navigation) in the Modern UI version of IE.

    When I read this thread, it just made me realize that I'll be sticking with Desktop IE for quite some foreseeable time, unfortunately, until MS can get its act together and make the two functionally identical.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Sit

    Sit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    3rd rock from the Sun, US, Ohio.
    The Tabs have moved to the Dark Side, I do believe.
     
  5. hogwldfltr

    hogwldfltr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newbury, MA
    I really haven't found too much use for the metro version. It seems to not like some of the forums I use. Actually I've found that in general Chrome in desktop works the best for my needs although I'm really trying hard to like Metro IE and IE in general. This is one of the reasons I wanted the Pro so I wouldn't have to be reliant on IE.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  6. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm not a huge tabs guy. I like the ability to swipe back and forth on the Modern (can we stop calling it Metro) version. Wish they would add that to the desktop.
     
  7. hogwldfltr

    hogwldfltr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newbury, MA
    But metro has such interesting overtones. Strangely, one of my common sites has started showing up as t. instead of www. It took me a while to figure out how to get to the desk top version of the site.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
desktop app vs surface app
,
ie app vs ie program
,
ie metro vs ie desktop surface
,
ie only desktop mode app surface pro 3
,
open ie 10 in metro mode from desktop
,
surface app ie
,
surface ie app
,

surface pro 3 ie app

,
surface pro 3 which version ie
,
surface pro ie ap only opens in desktop mode