1. originalstarlite

    originalstarlite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I prefer to use the RT's Metro IE, it just allows a lot more screen space. But anytime I come upon a drop down selection box at a website, I get frustrated. Once the drop box is touched it will not stay open. I have tried 2 hands, one holding it open and one tying to selecting, and it will not work. Out of frustration I must get the keyboard to make this work.

    Has anyone figured this one out?
     
  2. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    It is about how those sites have been programmed and implemented, and not many conforms to HTML5 yet.

    With touch, nothing you can do. But with keyboard, they're accessible.
     
  3. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    I've got the exact problem on my website: The Battle Off Samar - Taffy III at Leyte Gulf
     
  4. jdtimothy

    jdtimothy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    RT
    Companies need to get with the times!

    Yep we all have our favorite sites that are not compatible with touch.... amazon.com is the most inconvenient for me. Its not Microsoft's problem, the site owners need to update their code.
     
  5. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
  6. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
  7. Tom T

    Tom T New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Anyone hear of Opera being ported? It is a fantastic browser on my Android devices.
     
  8. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Amazon is annoying for sure, when you type for searches you can't even select the suggested matches in the drop down.
     
  9. Mr.NK

    Mr.NK Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    My Device:
    RT
    It won't happen (at least in the near future), as Microsoft insists on IE-Engine being the only that is allowed to run as a browser - so even a ff/chrome/opera-front-end would work with an IE-engine. The reasons for this is the sandbox-safety-feature, which will only give a small number of ms-legacy-apps full control over the full windows API, whereas the apps have to use a reduced number of safe controls.
     
  10. stlbud

    stlbud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Amazon is particulary disappointing. They heavily promote Android but don't understand touch on their own site. Worse for us, problems with their Windows 8 apps gets you tossed into a sewer with support staff that doesn't know there is anything but Android in the world. :/
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

contact metron.ie loc:us

,

ie metro dropdown

,

ie metro dropdown selection

,

ie metro select amazon auto suggest dropdown

,

surface metro problems ie