IE10 touch gone?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by maddom, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. maddom

    maddom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I think that I accidently deinstalled IE10 touch instead of unpinning it from start sometime last week. When I use the search only the desktop app comes up.

    I don't seem to be able to find it in the store either, so how do I get it back?

    Chrome kind of sucks for touch controls and even though I, as pretty much every developer that has anything at all to do with the web, always hated IE I got to admit that it was pretty nice with the SP. ;)
     
  2. Igor

    Igor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you make your default browser anything other than IE10 the touch version disappears and you can only access the desktop version. The only way to get it back is to make IE10 the default browser again. A very strange decision from Microsoft there.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Indeed. Took me a while to figure what was going on, why only Desktop IE would open, when I wanted Metro IE. Alas, I had set Chrome as my default browser. Would be nice if they remedied that little issue.
     
  4. drksilenc

    drksilenc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    chrome in metro mode has touch if u are using chrome
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No kidding?? Had no idea that Chrome even HAD a Metro app??
     
  6. Igor

    Igor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You just "Relaunch Chrome in Windows 8 mode" from the menu in the desktop app. However I found the experience was not as polished or as smooth as IE10 with touch.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. maddom

    maddom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hm, that's an odd behaviour.. Going to try it out later.
    I'll try out the Chrome tip, too.

    Thanks!
     
  8. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh yeah, I knew about the "relaunch" thing, thanks for that! Sad to say, all it is is regular Chrome with the spacing adjusted on the menus.

    Unfortunately, we are living in a day when some things will just never be developed on certain platforms. I believe Chrome will never get a "polished" Metro app, because they will remain only focused on Android as their go-to touch platform for Chrome. Same with Office on an iPad (which I don't care about, personally), we will never see MS develop Office for an iDevice, as the Surface specifically, and Win 8 tablets in general, will be their offering for Office on a mobile platform.
     
  9. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    It doesn't have full functionality like Metro IE though does it? Unless I'm doing something wrong...
     
  10. hogwldfltr

    hogwldfltr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newbury, MA
    I find that IE metro lacks full functionality on some of my routinely used sites. It doesn't on the desk top however. Same as Chrome in many respects from what I can see. Very annoying from my perspective. I can't seem to find any more setting to adjust either.
     
  11. Igor

    Igor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like what? I haven't really had any trouble.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to launch metro ie on surface pro 2

,
how to touch ie surface pro 2
,
ie on surface disappeared
,
ie surface pro touch event
,
metro ie kind of sucks
,
surface pro 3 modern browser gone
,

surface pro metro explorer missing

,

surface pro metro ie

,
surface pro touch ie 10 how to find
,
touch gone on surface