ie11

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by cvc988, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. cvc988

    cvc988 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i read that the only way to get ie11 touch mode is by setting it as your default browser. any way around this? i use chrome primarily but wouldnt mind ie touch mode when travelling and using the touch screen only
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Does your MUI version of IE work in touch mode? Even though you have Chrome installed.
     
  3. cvc988

    cvc988 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    what is mui
     
  4. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    MUI = Modern User Interface a.k.a Metro Interface on Win 8.1
     
    leeshor likes this.
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, but also Multilanguage/Multilingual User Interface and Magic User Interface :)
     
    leeshor likes this.
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    May bad, should have spelled it out.
     
  7. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not sure what you mean by "touch mode". Everything on the SP3 can be "touched", but lots of things aren't really made for it, like the Desktop version of IE 11. The Metro version of IE 11 is specifically made for touch devices, and definitely works really well in that role.
     
  8. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yes ie metro works with both chrome and firefox installed. but you can only use/access it if ie 11 is set as the default browser. very lame.
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You're right, that is lame.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ie 11 touch mode
,
ie11 keeps setting to default browser
,

ie11 touch mode