Installing .Net 3 and prior?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by netplumbers, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. netplumbers

    netplumbers New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have a number of applications including battery bar pro I'd like to install which require older .net libraries. I should be able to add them by selecting .Net3 in the windows add/remove features. This always fails with a network timeout... googling shows lots of people with the same problem on win 8.1 and a suggestion to install from the .iso with the dsim utility (see How to enable .NET Framework 3.0 and 2.0 manually in Windows 8.1 RTM). Since the Pro 2 doesn't come with any media, I tried pulling the MSDN 8.1 x64 iso but that also fails using dsim. I see from the posts on this board that many of you have battery bar pro working which must mean you've been able to solve this problem.... how? Thanks, Jon
     
  2. mjgerrard

    mjgerrard New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    *Edited* Broken for me too. It used to work on Windows 8 Pro, but not in Windows 8.1.

    M.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2013
  3. Ruffles

    Ruffles Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    All of the programs I've installed that needed .NET libs popped up a window during install that gave me the option to install .NET which completed normally.
     
  4. shazada

    shazada Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    For me it worked, I just didn't went with the CMD but just windows + X and to program and features and then turned the feature on. My program needed .NET 2.x and it didn't start without is and afterwards it did.
     
  5. netplumbers

    netplumbers New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    From my google searches, there appears to be a common problem with the BITS service not functioning properly and breaking many things. I managed to get this to work by running the GUI based .net3 add immediately after a boot before BITS had a chance to get flakey.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

windows 8.1 x64 install .net3