Intel has NOT begun shipping Broadwell. Damn that timing...

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by aer0, Jul 16, 2014.

  1. aer0

    aer0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gingrich Moon Colony
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Intel did a conference call yesterday:
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/2454...ell-but-next-gen-skylake-chip-could-slip.html

    They've started shipping Broadwell chips... damn it!
    Broadwell was suppose to provide a significant performance boost in the integrated graphics :(
    Not to mention performance boost in general processing power (the sexiness of 14nm)

    Anyone even remotely believe that MS will put in broadwell chips to the SP3?
    One can dream ;)

    Seeing as it's rumored Apple will bugger out from putting Broadwell into any of their products pre-2015,
    it would be a boon for MS if they could manage to push out a product with Broadwell before 2015 :cool:

    IF there is even a remote chance, I'll hold off from upgrading to the i7 and wait till year end for Broadwell goodness :D
     
  2. bkydcmpr

    bkydcmpr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    no way microsoft would update sp line with broadwell this year. one possibility is the refreshment to be announced around the time of windows 9 announcement and shipped at a point after windows 9 is released (between q2 and q3 2015).
     
  3. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Why not just wait for the SP5 it will have a Skylake chip? There is always something new right around the corner, do what is best for you.
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You will be the rest of your life chasing the rabbit. ;)
     
  5. dstrauss

    dstrauss Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Agreed - there will always be a next better thing, and the SPro 3 will get the spec bump of Broadwell to glorify SPro 4 - just like there was an SPro 2. If you need one, and can really use one, get the SPro 3 that you need (i5 or i7) and don't look back.
     
  6. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    I'd be surprised if they put a Broadwell inside a SP3 -- more likely would be a slightly updated Haswell, similar to what happened with the SP2. Broadwell is designed for fanless use, I'll bet the SP4 is already being designed with that in mind.
     
  7. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    This. Broadwell is "tock". Skylake is "tick". Broadwell will offer up to 40% GPU increase but CPU is just a die shrink of Haswell. CPU performance increase will likely be negligible.

    Personally, I've waited long enough for the i7 SP3.
     
  8. macmee

    macmee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This is annoying. I care most about battery life. Tempted to hold onto the SP2 now.
     
  9. megatronium

    megatronium Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You should.
     
  10. macmee

    macmee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
  11. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Also from the article.....

    "Intel typically ships sample quantities of its chips to its hardware partners, then begins manufacturing them in large quantities for commercial production. That helps explain the jargon of earnings calls, when “shipping” can still mean months before customers can actually buy a PC."

    So these are samples that are shipping, we will see some limited number devices during the Holiday Season....
     
  12. aer0

    aer0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gingrich Moon Colony
    My Device:
    SPro3

    :eek: WOAH
    If that has broadwell, Battery Life/RAM/SDD/Price comparable to the SP3, and released for the holiday season,
    that will be a solid machine that I will salivate over.
    Broadwell would be awesome, and the 4G LTE connectivity would be the icing on the cake.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
are there any products with broadwell chip
,
broadwell 4g lte
,
broadwell graphics
,
intel broadwell 4g
,

surface pro broadwell

,
surface pro broadwell skylake
,
when is intel broadwell shipping
,
when will surface pro ship with broadwell