Intel i5-4300U displays as 2.5 GHz in Windows system control panel

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by Subsurf, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. Subsurf

    Subsurf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hello everybody,

    I recently bought a used Surface Pro 3, i5 Version with 8 GB RAM and 256 GB SSD (running Windows 10).

    The data sheet of the i5-4300U processor says its normal clock was 1.9 GHz, and a maximum of 2.9 GHz with Turboboost. However, the system control panel shows "Intel Core i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90 GHz 2.50 GHz", as shown in my screenshot. Where do the 2.50 GHz come from? Is something wrong with the system settings or in the BIOS? Or is this normal for the i5-4300U?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MickeyLittle

    MickeyLittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mississippi
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't know about the 2.9 max I read it as 2.5 max and mine reads just like yours.
     
  3. Subsurf

    Subsurf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
  4. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    From another message: "Intel i5 4300U has a max turbo frequency of 2900 MHz, top non turbo frequency is 2500 MHz."
     
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I didn't get a data sheet with my Surface but it is running at 2.5 MHZ.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Now that's what I call slow. ;);)
     
  7. Subsurf

    Subsurf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    After some more googling I found out that Microsoft apparently modified the i5 in the SP3, so that it runs at 2.5 GHz instead of Intel's intended clock of 1.9 GHz.
     
  8. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    But when you get as old as I am leeshor, it seems fine. Oh is this 2016, I was thinking of 1978 and my Radio Shack Model 1 with cassette I/O.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  9. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So much for taking spec sheets for their word.
     
  10. ZorMi

    ZorMi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
  11. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Intel CPUs have various modes they can operate in.
    LFM is the lowest frequency,
    HFM is the high frequency
    Turbo or Turbo Boost is the ultimate short burst max frequency.

    For an i5-4300U these are
    LFM 800MHZ - .8GHZ
    HFM 2500 MHZ - 2.5GHZ
    TURBO 2900MHZ - 2.9GHZ

    LFM-HFM.PNG

    It seems they are just reporting HFM on the system properties page. now, that's solved... where does 1.9ghz come from ;)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

screenshot of system properties which has i5 processor and 8 gb of ram

,

windows 10 core i5 control panel properties screenshot