Is the PTV3000 supposed to work now?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by zicoz, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. zicoz

    zicoz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have a SP2, and a PTV3000, but my SP2 does not find a been ything when I am searching for it. As far as I have understood this has been a known issue, but is it supposed to work now?
     
  2. CreativeLemming

    CreativeLemming Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    I bought one yesterday, and can confirm that it works. The first thing I did was upgrade the PTV firmware, and also performed a hard reset while messing around with it to be on the safe side.
    It does have some issues with discovery, usually solved by disabling then re-enabling WiFi on the SP2.
    I had some teething troubles trying to get 1080p out of it, but this turned out to be a HDMI handshake issue, resolved by modifying my home theatre cabling.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    With the latest PTV3000 Firmware it does work, it is finicky occasionally and may require that the LTV gets rebooted or SP2 resets the Wireless...
     
  4. manfromwest

    manfromwest New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had same problem when I use old version of wifi network driver. check that.
     
  5. manoroid

    manoroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For some reason the only way I get this thing running every time is I have to turn WiFi off and on 3 times then it gets recognized. Am I the only one with this issue.
     
  6. jollywombat

    jollywombat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY, USA
    My Device:
    SPro2
    I have no issues with my PTV3000 with the latest firmware. Use it at home for movies, and at work for projecting presentations and network visio's. Never have to reset the wifi to get it to work, just tap charms, devices, and select the adapter. Great little product.
     
  7. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Is there still a lag? I really want to invest in either Miracast or Chromecast but I'm not sure the technology's quite there for fully replacing my HDMI cable...
     
  8. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    There is lag, its better. The use case is for Video Watching and Presentations. I also use it occasionally if I'm delivery Training a Virtually having the Lync Client with content on the Flat Panel TV and using my Surface for notes and IM.
     
  9. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Yeah, as I thought. It'll be great for using my Surface to cast to my TV for watching catch up television etc. but not so much for browsing on my computer monitor! :( hopefully one day.
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I think once the industry broadly adopts 802.11AC especially on the 5GHz range most if not all of the lag should be gone.
     
  11. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Still considering that dual band router :p so hopefully I'll get to experience 5GHz soon...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to date ptv3000
,
ptv 3000, surface rt
,
surface not find ptv 3000
,

surface pro 2 ptv3000

,
surface rt does not see ptv3000
,

surface rt ptv 3000

,
surface rt ptv3000
,
trying to use ptv 3000 with surface rt