Issue With On Screen Keyboard

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by d31dk, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    After i rebooted the other day, my on screen keyboard is giving me some problems.
    When i use IE (Modern UI) and i choose the address field the keyboard pops up, but it covers the address field so i'm unable to see what i'm typing.
    It also happens when i'm using bing or Google when i want to type, the keyboard Blocks the view of the field to type in text.

    Before it worked fine, by moving the "txt field" up, so i could see what i was typing.

    Any ideas? I have tried switching between diffrent on screen keyboards etc, but i cannot make it Work like before :(



    -------
    To moderator - maybe you can move this to the "help" section? I can't find a way to delete it, so i could re-create.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  2. Mr.NK
    Offline

    Mr.NK Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    My Device:
    RT
    Moved to Help-section.
  3. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you :)
  4. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    You should just be able to touch the area above the keyboard and drag it up or down so you can see the field in question.
  5. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunetly it's not working - have tried, and just now verified that i cannot "drag" the screen up, so i can see what i'm typing in the address field.
  6. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Can you drag the key board itself to a lower position? It should be able to move around but then you will lose the bottom row of keys or the side keys depending on where you drag it. Of course this isn't the best solution but may work if you just need to briefly see the field. For example you could move the keyboard out of the way touch in the field you need and then move the keyboard back so you can see all the keys and enter your text.
  7. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    You cannot drag the web page up anymore if it's not "long" enough. So, I just position the marker on the text input and type away.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
  8. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cannot "detach" the keyboard and drag it around

    @ArnoldC i do that sometimes, but when i do a typo its a Little unhandy. I can hide and unhide the keyboard to look, but a very slow way to do Things.

    I must have done something in the settings somewhere, because it used to Work, and it seems like im the only one with the problem?

    I appreciate your help, and will keep digging for a solution
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express
  9. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Ideally, the on-screen keyboard should "push" the text input up and become visible.

    It also happens most of the time on my Windows Phone 8 and Board Express. When I reply to posts in this forum, I can't see the textbox as it is covered by the keyboard, so I close the keyboard, tap on the textbox again, and now it is "pushed" up and becomes visible when the on-screen keyboard appears.
  10. Heino
    Offline

    Heino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    AW: Issue with on screen keyboard

    I had exactly the same issue. I couldn't see the address line where you enter the http links when the keyboard was shown. My only solution was to do a refresh recovery where none of my data was erased. Takes about an hour though.
  11. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the reply - does this change anything in regards to installed apps etc?
    Just want to be sure before i try it out :)
  12. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Refresh is a few minutes, and will preserve settings and reinstall apps.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
  13. d31dk
    Offline

    d31dk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Just tried the refresh :)
    It did solve the problem - thank you very much for the help, this was getting frustrating.

    The only thing i am missing after the refresh is my Picture password at login - everything else is right back to how i want it. Nice feature!! :)

    - Edit -
    The only other thing that needs to be done, is re-installing all the updates to the surface :) but if it still Works, it's fine with me.

    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  14. ArnoldC
    Offline

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Hmm, interesting. I didn't lose my Picture Password after a refresh...
  15. chepi141
    Offline

    chepi141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It seems as though you wanted the keyboard to push everything up on the screen. The onscreen keyboard has a toggle next to the "x" in the top right corner to toggle whether or not it is an overlay or part of the screen.

    That being said, I had an issue to where they SP3 was always bringing up the onscreen keyboard even when my Type Cover was connected. After 11 hours of troubleshooting with 3 different representatives, I had to send it back and get a new one. Hopefully this isn't what you are referring to

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface keyboard issues
,
surface 3 on screen keyboard problems
,
surface keyboard issue
,

surface keyboard issues

,
surface keyboard when in textbox
,

surface on screen keyboard issue

,
surface on screen keyboard issues
,
surface on-screen keyboard issue