Latest Surface Pro i5 vs Surface pro 3 i7

Discussion in 'Surface Pro 2017' started by Moonsurface, Sep 10, 2018.

  1. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've been very quiet here for a long time, simply because I have had no need to be on here and no issues with my 2014 surface Pro i7

    However... as I have just become a student again, the potential discoutns at the Microsoft store are tempting. I was wondering if I could/should update my Surface to one of the newer models for quieter running (mine is a bit of a fan -blower... not a problem just a little bit embarrasing in quiet places) and longer battery life.

    I was wondering about the performance of the newer i5 vs the older haswel i7 in my Pro 3... is it an upgrade in performance?

    Just curious really - I feel like I'm being unfaithful to my Pro 3 as really there's nothing at all wrong with it, it's still the best computer I ever owned!!
     
  2. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well I'll find out for myself soon as I just bought one. I can then directly compare looooool!!

    Weird offer on MS store for i5 with type cover for about £100 less than the tablet alone. I already have a pro 4 pen so I'm fine in that regard.
     
  3. efinimazda

    efinimazda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Canoga Park CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What is the warranty status of your device? I just managed to get my Pro 3 i7 upgraded to the Pro 2017 i7 at the Microsoft store... straight exchange because I have the complete warranty.
     
  4. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Was there something wrong with your Pro3?

    Mine is over 4 years old so no warranty and also nothing wrong with it.
     
  5. efinimazda

    efinimazda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Canoga Park CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    thermal shutdown, otherwise a solid device
     
    Moonsurface likes this.
  6. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I never had that problem with mine. Even when ai had it rendering high quality previews from 36mp raw files in lightroom. It got hot but never shut down.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

best cameras

,

news