Leap Motion releases video of Windows 8 using Leap and...

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by mitchellvii, May 20, 2013.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ...it is COOL. Yes, I will be getting this and YES, Leap Motion could be the thing that saves Windows 8.

    Can you imagine anyone with a legacy monitor being able to do THIS with an $80 device? The world just went "touch" on the cheap.

    [video=youtube;21LtA5-wiwU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=21LtA5-wiwU[/video]

    Just wait 'till they start building this into laptops...
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
    2 people like this.
  2. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Here is a little more of the nuts and bolts.

    [video=youtube;TMqBLqzsZZU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMqBLqzsZZU[/video]
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So all this time i been wondering how you guys do it. it is like you guys are in the same room posting and discussing these things together. wait i got it.

    conjoined_twins_604135.jpg
     
  4. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Its called the Internet you should try it sometime :)
     
  5. DOS

    DOS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    First time I've seen this work with Windows 8... nice.

    I wonder what's holding them up. If it works this well, why not release it today? For $80, I would get one.
     
  6. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The hardware is done. I am guessing they are trying to get all the drivers right so they have a successful launch. Better to take it slow as initial word of mouth will either make or break this device.

    That's the brilliant thing about the price. $80 is well below most people's pain threshold for such a thing compared to $600 for a new touch monitor.
     
  7. DOS

    DOS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutely. With a Windows 8 upgrade and this device, you could turn your old PC into a pseudo touch system.

    If this does what is says regarding Windows 8, Microsoft should jump all over this to help promote...
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I've had mine on order, (pre order) for over a year. STILL waiting.
     
  9. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    A bugfree launch is essential. It's worth the wait to get it right.
     
  10. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yep, I do wonder how this will work with multi-monitor setups as many business people have those. That could be problematic on a spatial basis. You could not gesture above anything but the primary monitor. Maybe that's it. It works on the primary monitor only. We'll see. Interesting challenge.

    For instance, if I have my SP extended to a large monitor and I set the large monitor as my primary, would this allow that monitor to be "touch" with the Leap while I continue to use tactile touch on the SP?
     
  11. DOS

    DOS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, over a year? Well, I do agree with Mitch that a "bugfree launch is essential"... but I guess I won't bother pre-ordering. If it does become a reality, even at $100 it appears it would be worth it.
     
  12. Arizona Willie

    Arizona Willie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    I cancelled my pre-orders because of missed shipping dates and broken promises for videos that never happened.

    Don't believe I saw them use Windows Explorer or use any File menus in this video. Basically they were just switching the screens using it as a substitute for Touch.
    While that is all well and good if it won't completely replace the mouse it will never fly, except perhaps as a game peripheral.

    I had high hopes when I placed my orders the day I saw an announcement of it last year.
    I hope they do pull it off ... but have many reservations due to their broken promises and missed shipping dates ( 3 times ).
    First they said last fall, then in May and then shoved it back again.

    I considered that they put the programming out for volunteer ( wannabe ) programmers and they have had problems it seems, to put it charitably.

    I think if some company like one of the gaming companies or Microsoft had it, they have enough really talented programmers that they could pull it off.
    I have my doubts about it with these folks. I hope it works.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does leap motion work on surface rt

,
does leap motion work on windows 8 pro 64 bit
,

leap motion windows surface

,
microsoft surface grafik driver leap motion