LG Ultrawide 3840x1440 and SP3?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by HarnessTech, Nov 16, 2014.

  1. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    official supported. Capture.JPG
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3

    If you use DisplayPort, then up to 3840×2160 is supported on the one external monitor, but only on i5/i7 models.
     
  4. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    So, if I am understanding you correctly, the SP3 won't support any external monitor having higher resolution than its own screen?
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No, I think Frank misunderstood you. Ultrawide 4K is supported, but like I said only on i5/i7's, and using DP.
     
  6. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gotcha. Thank you!

    Right now I have two 1920x1080 monitors and would rather have the single monitor. Plus technically I'll have more desktop space with the ultrawide anyway.
     
  7. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Awesome, you should post a screenshot when you get it set up! :D
     
  8. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    For the record, I do have the i5.
     
  9. DocACE911

    DocACE911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have the i7 and it drives the 4k panel fine at my office (LG IPS)
     
  10. phositadc

    phositadc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have the monitor the op is referencing and it is awesome. Though it is connected to my desktop pc, not my sp3.
     
  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Plug it into your SP3 for us to test it out and tell us how it works! :D
     
  12. enthuz

    enthuz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Jealous much...yes I am! I was just looking at that bad boy last night. Yes, please tell us how the SP3 acts and looks on it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3440x1440 vs 3840x1440
,

3840x1440 monitor

,
how to connect wide screen monitor to surface book
,
how to hook up lg ultra wide monitor to surface pro
,
lg ultrawide surface pro 4
,
sp3 34um95
,

surface pro 3 lg ultrawide

,
surface pro 3 ultrawide
,
surface pro 3 with lg extra wide
,
ultra wide monitor surface pro 3