Solved Location Services

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Sassi, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. Sassi

    Sassi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi,

    Does anyone else have trouble with location services on their SP3? I downloaded AccuWeather as the Bing Weather App doesn't work well in Australia and when it set my location it was wrong. I looked up my location on maps and it couldn't find it. So I switched location services off restarted switched them back on then restarted. In Maps it now showed my house under my location... all good so far. I reinstalled AccuWeather and it showed a completely different location. I went back to maps and it couldn't find my location. Posting a message to my son on Facebook also gave the wrong location. Now Maps has no idea where I am anymore, location services are still on.

    Is there anything I can do other than turn location on and off? Does anyone else have this problem, is the Surface bad with locations - my Lumia 1320 is fine and has no problem, or could this be a hardware issue?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Your Lumia is using a combination of locations services not the least of which is cellular. On your Surface, how far off is your true location from where it says you are?

    I assume you know your time - location offset is correct.
     
  3. Sassi

    Sassi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The current location is about a suburb away from where I actually am, so it's not a huge issue I guess, but my phone always picks up my actual suburb correctly. Maps will sometimes get it almost spot on, but AccuWeather and Facebook are often out by a suburb or two.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    This is a wag but it may be picking up your location based on your WiFi (WAN) IP address. This is a fairly common issue on some mobile devices. That typicallty traces to the local ISP's local office physical location.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Unless the device has GPS it uses triangulation based on Provider IP or Cell Location....it works well for me at home because my provider has a POP in my building, but at work it thinks I'm in Colorado because that is where our ISP's POP is located...(I'm in Seattle).
     
  6. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Makes sense to me. As far as weather goes, you should be able key in the default city you want to have the weather forecast for.
     
  7. dniezby

    dniezby Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    On your SP3 It establishes your location based on where your IP address is reported. It's not using GPS like phones do. Don't sweat it, just set your locations manually.
     
  8. Sassi

    Sassi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    thanks guys, I just wanted to make sure there was nothing wrong with my surface. I guess I'm just too used to devices with GPS. Thank you so much for your replies you guys are awesome :)
     
    leeshor and jnjroach like this.
  9. guymalloc

    guymalloc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nebraska
    My wireless hotspot I use for internet always places me in Texas, I'm actually in Nebraska, I wouldn't mind being off a neighborhood or two, HA HA!!!!!
     
  10. Pepper

    Pepper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Alabama
    Contact your ISP, they may be able to help.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how do i change location services on my surface 2
,
how do i switch on location services on microsoft surface
,
how to turn on location services on surface pro 3
,
microsoft surface location services
,
surface 3 location services
,
surface location service
,

surface location services

,
surface pro location services
,
turn on location services ms surface
,
turn on location services surface 3