Log On keyboard doesnt show

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by crackinhedz, May 1, 2014.

  1. crackinhedz

    crackinhedz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I first got my Surface pro the keyboard doesnt show up, which prevents me from being able to log on after boot up. I would hit the arrow/enter symbol and an error would occur since no password was provided (duh), but this somehow makes the keyboard show up. But, a few weeks ago even the arrow button trick does not work anymore as the keyboard doesnt show up at all no matter what. Now I have to hit the recycle looking button on the bottom left of the screen, which has an option for on screen keyboard.

    Very annoying, wondering if something with an update made this happen? Anyone else have this problem?

    Thanks
     
  2. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Have you tried just tapping in the blank box where you type your password? Sorry if that sounds silly but I have to sometimes on my S2.
     
  3. crackinhedz

    crackinhedz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, of course. No luck.
     
  4. FHSPSU67

    FHSPSU67 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Windber, PA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I experience the same thing here. My work around is to select "sign in options", then the key followed by the PIN keyboard or vice-versa if you're using your Microsoft password.
     
  5. jimkraz

    jimkraz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Have you thought of removing the need for password by typing in search netplwiz, untick the box for require password, put in pass twice, there you go.
     
  6. crackinhedz

    crackinhedz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oddly enough it works now, im guessing an MS update fixed my issue? Thanks for the suggestion guys.
     

Share This Page