Losing VHD on SD after reboot

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by Kris, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Every time I reboot my SP3 no longer sees the VHD I created for my one drive on my SD card and I get this message
    Capture.JPG I created a shortcut, to my VHD, on my desktop and if I double click it the message goes away but my OneDrive goes through the process of verifying it's entire contents.
    If I go to Disk Management before I double click on the shortcut I do not see the VHD drive there or in Explorer either. I have formatted the SD card multiple times and same issue every time I reboot. I am using this method to create a VHD. I also used a method of linking my SD card to my C drive but now both are giving me this error. Did my card go bad or has something changed?

    Edit: I only have the I3 64GB model so disk space is very important.
     
  2. Charlie Cassidy

    Charlie Cassidy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Windows 10 does not automatically mount VHDs after a reboot. You must go into Disk Management and "Attach VHD" (or equivalent) to mount the VHD so that OneDrive can see it.

    Attach VHD on Startup Automatically shows how to do it automatically at startup.
     
  3. MikemanSP4

    MikemanSP4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I apologize in advance, but are you talking about a cloud drive with VHD? Virtual Hard Drive.... I just found out that I can add a MicroSD card and I am ecstatic.
     
  4. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Odd it was working perfectly fine for months then it started doing this, I will try your method and let you know if it works. Thanks in advance.

    Yes. only way I can sync cloud storage since I only have 64GB on my SP3, more like 20GB after windows and other programs.
     
  5. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It did not work for now I ran "shell:startup" and put a copy of the VHD shortcut into that folder. It will have to be a band-aid fix until I figure out the real issue.
     
  6. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So I tried the method on this page and it still did not work but at the bottom of the page there was a comment that for some reason is working. It might have been a combo of the 2 but here is what finally made it work
    Set up automatic mounting on system startup. -Win+W, type Schedule Tasks, enter. In the tree on the left side,click on “Task Scheduler Library”
    -From the “Actions” pane, click on “Create Task”
    Enter “mount D:\disk.vhd” (or anything you’d like) as the task name. Likewise description is optional -Select “Run whether user is logged on or not” Check “Run with highest privileges” -In Triggers tab, click New, select “At startup” and press OK.
    -In Actions tab, click on New. Select “Start a program” as Action. In program/script, put “C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe.”
    In add arguments, write exactly
    “-command “mount-diskimage D:\disk.vhd””
    -In Conditions tab, uncheck everything. Press OK
    Enter your Windows password and press OK. That’s it!
    Restart the system and see if your new drive is visible after login

    After putting OneDrive on it, I deleted the VHD and my SD card is still showing up as D:\
    hopefully I found the fix but still no idea as to why it stopped working in the first place.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

create a vhd on a sd card

,

vhd on sd card