Low benchmark score i5 4GB

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Tuck, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Tuck

    Tuck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I ran my 2 day old SP3 benchmarks using 3dMark demo, and I realised that my i5 4GB model is scoring quite a bit lower than anandtech's benchmark.
    In his benchmark he scored, 642 in fire strike and 42129 in ice storm using the i5 8GB Ram model.
    My benchmark scores are more inline with anandtech's benchmark for the i3...

    My scores :
    Fire Strike - 430 (well ventilated, start from cool)
    Ice Storm - 31449 (well ventilated, start from cool)

    So, if possible i'd like to refer to some benchmarks other users would have so as to identify whether my scores are a cause for concern. Cheers!
     
  2. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    how is the battery, fully charged, is it plug-in?

    if yes, maybe anandtech enabled hyper-v....
     
  3. Tuck

    Tuck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The battery is plugged in but not fully charged. However I did a test before when it was plugged in and fully charged, it didnt score that much better either.

    If he enabled hyper-v then I guess it would be useful to compare with other users with or without hyper-v?
     
  4. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    duh, my 3dmark demo crashed................
     
  5. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Why would Hyper-V make benchmarks faster?
     
  6. Tuck

    Tuck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The SP3's been plagued with problems and a few of them were related to the connected stand by function, thus by using hyper-v some problems might be solved.

    However it is unlikely that the benchmark anandtech was doing had hyper-v enabled, it would only make sense where a review would use it's stock performance.

    Seeing through the rankings on 3dmark, I found out that generally the 8GB ram machines have a higher score than 4GB machines, is RAM supposed to affect that much for benchmarks like this? It was the only program running hence I doubt it was the problem of insufficient RAM
     
  7. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    HyperV should not affect the benchmark but what probably he was thinking is that the user enabled it to gain access to features in the power plan hidden if Connected Standby is enabled.

    Going back to the OP question, Anandtech benchmark was in a prerelease unit. After that few Windows Updates were realized and many noticed a change in performance and a gain in battery life.
     
  8. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Having more RAM will increase performance in some grade.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
civ v sp3 i5 4gb ram
,

low 3dmark score surface pro 3

,

surface pro 3 i5 4gb benchmark

,

surface pro 3 i5 4gb ram benchmark

,

surface pro 4 i5 8gb benchmark

,
surface pro 4gb benchmark
,
why is my surface pro 3 i5 scoring lower than expected with 3dmark