Solved Mail, Calendar and Calculator not opening

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Applications (x86/x64)' started by paul.mellors, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Mail, calendar and calculator apps not opening. Can't seem to find a way to reinstall these. Any help appreciated. Thanks Paul
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Open an admin command prompt and type wsreset

    If that doesn't work there is another command that will essentially reinstall all the Store apps.

    Moved to apps.
     
  3. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    thanks for the reply. wsreset didn't fix the problem
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Have turned off UAC and/or the Windows Firewall?
     
  5. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Neither turned off
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Run powershell as an administrator and run this command in the window.

    Get-Appxpackage -Allusers

    That will reinstall all the apps from the store and may take a while. It may look like it isn't doing anything Wait.
     
    jnjroach likes this.
  7. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    didn't work for me. Once the command was entered lots of entries in powershell.

    Below is the end of what I was allowed to copy.

    Not too familiar with windows unfortunately, been a mac user for a lifetime:)

    Paul

    Name : Microso
    Publisher : CN=Micr
    Architecture : X64
    ResourceId :
    Version : 10.1601
    PackageFullName : Microso
    InstallLocation : C:\Prog
    IsFramework : False
    PackageFamilyName : Microso
    PublisherId : 8wekyb3
    PackageUserInformation : {S-1-5-
    IsResourcePackage : False
    IsBundle : False
    IsDevelopmentMode : False

    Name : Attract
    Publisher : CN=A12B
    Architecture : X64
    ResourceId :
    Version : 1.1.0.9
    PackageFullName : Attract
    InstallLocation : C:\Prog
    IsFramework : False
    PackageFamilyName : Attract
    PublisherId : 1a2j9j1
    PackageUserInformation : {S-1-5-
    IsResourcePackage : False
    IsBundle : False
    IsDevelopmentMode : False
     
  8. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    here's the file
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      57.7 KB
      Views:
      520
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It doesn't look like you issued the full command, however, here is another one that should work. Make certain you execute PS as an administrator.

    Get-AppxPackage -allusers | foreach {Add-AppxPackage -register "$($_.InstallLocation)\appxmanifest.xml" -DisableDevelopmentMode}

    Follow that with a restart.
     
  10. paul.mellors

    paul.mellors New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DONCASTER, UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    still no joy:-(
     

    Attached Files:

    • log2.txt
      File size:
      28.4 KB
      Views:
      306
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    There is normally a lot of information that pops up when you do that but you had a lot of several types of errors. I think it's time for you to do a reset.
     
  12. revmike

    revmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hanford, CA
    I would like to delete mail and reinstall mail, would one of these commands help? I've tried wsreset and that did nothing. Thanks
     

Share This Page