manage wireless roaming

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by CharlieH, Oct 1, 2016.

  1. CharlieH

    CharlieH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I have multiple access points in my home. How do I get my surface 4 to connect to the nearest/strongest access point? Normally there's an adapter setting that regulates a threshold on when to change to a stronger access point....typically called 'roaming aggressiveness'. I can't find anything like that in the settings for my Marvell Avastar adapter.
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Changed the title as the "How To" Prefix is reserved for tutorials.

    As for the your question - the Marvell doesn't have much around Management. Does your APs all use the same SSID Name?
     
  3. CharlieH

    CharlieH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I've configured my network both ways...First I used different SSID names for the APs. The wireless adapter would connect with one and stay connected with a faint signal even as I moved nearer to an AP with a stronger signal. Then I tried having all APs use the same SSID name. I also made sure that all APs used the same security, WPA2. I got the same result. The Surface 4 wireless stays connected to an AP as long as there's some signal.

    Does the Marvell adapter in the Surface 4 have any logic to trigger switching APs? I can't find a setting that manages that. I think that's a real problem. Seems like most other adapters have a setting where the roaming tolerance can be managed. My only solution is to use different SSID names and manually change to the AP with the strongest signal as I move around the house.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    These management options are not available on the SP4....
     
  5. CharlieH

    CharlieH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Do you suggest I use the same SSID names for each AP or should I use different ones?
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Typically in a business setting I configure all with the same SSID and do I site survey so there isn't much overlap...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

microsoft surface pro 4 roaming aggressiveness