Missing "Add wireless display" under charm bar.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by amk., Jun 19, 2014.

  1. amk.

    amk. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im having some issues trying to make Miracast work on my Surface Pro 2.



    I had my surfaced updated before the Jun update and I had no "Add wireless display" link under the Project menu. I changed the Wireless driver to an older one and it came back. Miracast was working perfectly.

    I then did the Jun update and the link dissapeared again, I changed to the older driver, but now the link does not appear! I cant add any Wireless Display anymore. I have tried .134, .150 and .168 wireless drivers, none of them worked.

    In desperation I tried changing the intel drivers to no avail.

    is there any kind of driver combination I should use to get my Miracast working again?

    Thanks in advance~
     
  2. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Wish I could help, but I can at least give you some company :-( I ran into the same issue. All this hassle when the update description states 'improved Miracast performance'.

    Mine hasn't gone completely, it does sometimes work -- but mostly not at all. When it does work, connectivity is slow. Turning Bluetooth off helps. I have a 3 year old ASUS laptop that works every time with no issues in streaming speed.

    All-in-all, I'd say the SP2 is a terrible ambassador for the SP3...
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Do you have any VLAN bridging software installed like virtual box? That typically disabled wireless displays.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. amk.

    amk. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    YES! Thank you!

    Uninstalled VirtualBox and now the Add Wireless Display link is back, thanks a lot.

    Now I just have to find a way to get both working together, or at least an easy way of getting both to co-exist somehow. I need Ubuntu from time to time.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    User the Hyper-V role that is native to Windows 8.x Pro and convert the VM to an VHD.....
     
  6. amk.

    amk. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Already tried that but enabling Hyper-V locks the CPU at full speed, it does not throttle down and kills the battery life :(
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,106
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Hardware based Hypervisors do that.....
     
  8. Compusmurf

    Compusmurf Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    My Device:
    SPro4
    virtualbox causes issues, vmware wkstn doesnt. Just fyi
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add a wireless display missing
,

add a wireless display missing surface pro 3

,
add wireless device missing on surface pro 3
,

add wireless display missing

,
add wireless display missing surface pro 2
,
add wireless display option missing
,
surface pro 3 add a wireless display gone
,

surface pro 3 add wireless display missing

,
surface pro 3 no option to add wireless display
,

surface pro 3 wireless display missing