More RAM in Surface 3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Zibi, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. Zibi

    Zibi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good morning
    I would like ask, is it possible to add additional 4GB RAM to my Surface 3 ( i5, 4GB, 128GB),
    is there a free slot for additional RAM ?.
    Thank you for for any help.
     
  2. Clovismod

    Clovismod Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Depending on how long you've had it and where you bought it you may be able to trade it for a unit with 8 GB RAM for only the difference in cost, essentially a return and new purchase transaction. Additionally from stories I have heard here Microsoft has been surprisingly generous in these situations. YMMV.

    However if you were thinking adding RAM would be cheaper on the aftermarket that's not possible. There are no slots, RAM is soldered on the motherboard. under the category of is it possible: It would be an extraordinary technical feat as you would have to expertly disassemble the device then remove the existing RAM and replace it on the motherboard then reassemble the unit. Level of difficulty is 12 on a scale of 1-10 and would be more expensive than buying a unit with 8 GB RAM.

    That said if the Surface line becomes very popular I wouldn't be surprised to see a "Mikegyver" type outfit, offering 16GB RAM upgrades for $800- $1200. Totally not worth the price but highly profitable. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014
    young blade likes this.
  4. Zibi

    Zibi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much for your help.
    Now I understand.
    Long time ago I had laptop, and there was free slot for add RAM,
    I thought that I can do the some with Sufrace.
    Thank you again.
    ,
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    With many laptops this is still the case. But with the Surface, like a lot of "thin and light" devices, they are constructed in such a way as to be permanently sealed, and not designed to be opened, ever.
     
  6. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I hope you make a video of you upgrading the memory.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add ram surface 3
,
add ram to surface 3
,
can i upgrade the ram in my surface 3
,
can you upgrade ram on surface 3
,
microsoft surface 3 ram upgrade
,
ram for surface 3
,
surface 3 add ram
,

surface 3 ram

,

surface 3 ram upgrade

,
video ram in surface 3