More Tiles On My Screen - Not Sure How It Happened But I Like It

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by sharpuser, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    So this morning I started up my Surface Pro 2 and found more tiles fitting on my screen than I've seen before. I don't know how this happened, but I like it.
    It could be that a sync with a Mac running Windows 8.1 with Parallels made the change.

    Anyway, here are some screen shots, and also the resolution settings.

    Screenshot (92).png

    Screenshot (93).png

    Screenshot (94).png

    Screenshot (95).png
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  2. Garyjk

    Garyjk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    on the start screen, bring up settings and click tiles, you'll see an option to show more tiles

    tiles.PNG
     
  3. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I am very aware of that setting. But "Show more tiles on the Start screen" has merely meant "Show 4 high instead of 3 high" until today, with 6.
     
  4. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Funny you can't do that on the S2... wonder why?
     
  5. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    At first I was like hmm what kind of app is this he's running? A girl tracker?!?! - Then I saw the Pandora icon :D
     
  6. CreativeLemming

    CreativeLemming Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Charms Bar-> Settings-> Change PC Settings->PC and Devices-> Display->" Change the size"-> Smaller

    Screenshot (4).png
     
  7. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Thanks, CreativeLemming, but here is a screenshot of that setting dialogue on my SP2: Only "Larger" or "Default".
    Good thing I like it! :)

    Screenshot (97).png
    Screenshot (99).png
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  8. the_new_normal

    the_new_normal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    I think its the same thing, only that your default is now small for some reason

    (ie your large is my default)
     
  9. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    sharpcolorado, it is exactly like the_new_normal.
    You probably connected the Surface pro 2 to an external display, and Windows got confused.
    On my desktop, I have the same option as you: Default and Larger.

    Since day 1, I have it like what you have.

    (screenshot before update 1)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  10. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I didn't connect to an external display, but I did run Windows 8.1 (with my Microsoft account) on a Mac via Parallels. Windows syncing with these settings results in 6-high tiles. I am keeping it this way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2014
  11. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  12. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Take it that it still keeps even after a reboot? Personally I don't like it, very messy! But as long as you're happy... bonus :)
     

Share This Page