Multi desktop App

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mr.dj26, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. mr.dj26

    mr.dj26 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey guys,

    As a former Mac user, I really love the SP3 and IMO its way better than the mac crap.
    One thing I hate about the sp3 is that you cant switch between desktop app like you can do with metro app.
    Anyway, a really nice feature I missed from the MAC is the multi desktops which make multi tasking very easy.

    Check out this app, its really great and easy to use.

    http://dexpot.de/
     
  2. gdir

    gdir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Multiple desktops are expected for Windows 9. I personally had never much use for them.
     
  3. cemian

    cemian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yea me neither...if I don't use something why am I going to leave it open to waste my resources? Just because it looks cool and uber productive? :)
    Thanks for the post tho mr.dj26...Just curious what do you use it for?
     
  4. mr.dj26

    mr.dj26 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi there, thanks for your opinions.
    Well, while using the mac, I got used to place each app in a desktop. So I used MS world in a desktop, chrome in a desktop, firefox(for java), and itunes in a desktop. Rather than minimizing or clicking on the taskbar every time you wanted to switch an app, it made switching really easy and very helpful when using multiple documents or apps.

    I forgot to mention that on the mac I used swipe gestures on the track pad to switch desktops which is really the main point. Using this app you can customize each desktop to any key combination to switch desktops. Anyways, I have been using touchme gesture(track pad substitute) also and I have posted about it on this forums a while ago. I have customized dexpot to switch to the next desktop by swiping 5 fingers across the screen right or left.
    I guess you have to use it know how its very helpful.

    Thanks
     
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I find unless you are connected to a large screen or multiple screens, having multiple apps open on the Surface screen is not practical because of how small the screen is. However, I can help you and others with the switching apps that are open. Hold down the Alt key and press the tab key to see and switch between open apps. That has been a standard that's been around in Windows for a long time.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    We had them in NT 4 Workstation but they weren't used and the concept went away as a native feature, they are rumored to return in Threshold, we'll know more on the 30th of September...
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    instead of going down to the task bar to switch apps all you have to do is use the ALT + TAB keys and it switches fast and easily to the next app you want... not that hard at all and no need for multiple desktops which sound confusing if you ask me and waste of resources... ;)
     
  8. JoshB

    JoshB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Also doing a single swipe from the left of the screen will switch between running apps.
     
  9. JoshB

    JoshB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    For Virtual Desktops though, I use VirtualWin. I might check out Dexpot though. It looks pretty.
     
  10. rege0039

    rege0039 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I like the idea of more gestures and have installed the touchme gesture and have looked at the desktop idea but I can't see how you would configure it to swap between the desktops as all I can see is a list of pre set options.

    Any clues ? Or a set up file to share ?

    Thanks.
     
  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Or Win+Tab...
     
  12. Geek.Verve

    Geek.Verve Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    None
    When I started reading this thread, it sounded like MS had removed ALT+TAB from Windows 8, but it evidently still works. Whew.

    Not sure what multiple desktops would add to that.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can you use swipe on surface tablet with multiple desktops
,
how to open multiple desktops on surface pro
,
imo app for microsoft surface 3
,
sp3 multiple apps
,

surface multi desktop

,
surface pro multiple desktops
,
swipe from left only works with metro apps
,
touchme gesture with dexpot
,
use swipe on surface pro through desktop apps
,
windows surface pro multiple desktop apps