music tranfer to the surface?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by TechGod2014, Jun 27, 2014.

  1. TechGod2014

    TechGod2014 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I can't seem to figure out how to load music from an SD card on to the tablet. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Go to windows explorer, find your sd card and play it from there or copy and paste on to the hard drive.
     
  3. TechGod2014

    TechGod2014 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks, was trying to do it thru the media player and I couldn't figure it out. Thanks again!
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Swipe from the right bezel and select settings in tell Xbox Music where to look for music and point it to your SD Card...
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    also change ur name...doesn't suit you... also go look on youtube there's great vids on how to's :p
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. TechGod2014

    TechGod2014 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Lmao! I must admit its been a very long time since I've had a Microsoft pc (strictly Macs, iPads and iPhones). And to my defense windows 8 isn't the easiest os to navigate thru. Super brain fart.
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yea I also had a hard time with win8, but you have no excuse for being a MAC luver! :p LOL
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. ZachBui

    ZachBui Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    For me I just right click->Properties on the Music folder and at the Location tab, I just set it to point to my SD Card music folder
     
  9. TechGod2014

    TechGod2014 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I tried that but in this case the music folder was on my cell phone. I figured that the music program (window media player) would just copy it off my phone but instead it wanted to erase the music folder on my phone and replace it with the one on the tablet which has zero songs in it.
     
  10. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    so the music is on another SD card from the phone and you just wanna pop it in and play...right? well I would just suggest you copy over the music to your device then pop in the other sd and copy that music from the device to the permanent SD card and then point the Xbox to the sd card with all your music... that way you don't have to keep switching... and keeps it simple for you :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. TechGod2014

    TechGod2014 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Already got it. Thanks for your help. I just did what ipaq101 said. I have an S5 and I turned it into a 3.0 Media drive. I then Copied the entire music folder on the phone and pasted it into the tablets music folder. Super easy. When I opened up the xbox music app it automatically found the music on the hard drive. Pretty cool .I think I just was over thinking the entire process. Or maybe being lazy.... either or! Thanks again! hope this helps someone else out.
     

Share This Page