MUST I have a Live account to use the Surface Pro??

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by whiteblazer01, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. whiteblazer01

    whiteblazer01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I've been in the market for a laptop for some time now, and had my eye on the Samsung Series 9. Then I saw in Best Buy the Surface Pro (which I had never seen before or known about). I was very impressed that it was a tablet with full Windows on it, AND a keyboard. Very cool! So now I'm looking to buy a Surface Pro.

    The only thing is, I don't care much for social media, cloud storage, rewards club membership programs, or having my life experience aggregated into some sort of 'profile'. I use numerous Firefox Add-Ons to block many things, and I use Startpage.com instead of Google.com or Bing.com, and hushmail.com instead of gmail.com (just to give an idea of my personal preferences regarding privacy).

    Anyway, I'm wondering if I can use the Surface Pro "anonymously", without having to create a Live account. I won't be downloading apps or doing any gaming, or using Skydrive, etc...

    Thanks in advance for any info.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    During setup you can create a local account but you need to select it explicitly. If you want to change it later to a Live Account you can.
     
  3. Garyjk

    Garyjk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i use a live account on my surface, but not on my desktop. you do not need a live account. there will be a slightly less obvious link you'll see to create a local account during initial set up. you won't be able to use the store, but i don't use it on my desktop.
     
  4. Chase_Payne

    Chase_Payne New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    During the set up it asks you to enter in an email, once you do this it will give you an option to make a windows account. Instead of continuing, you can click the use a local account instead..

    This will allow you to create exactly what you stated.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to use surface without a microsoft account
,
setup a surface pro without a microsoft account
,

setup surface pro 3 without microsoft account

,
surface pro without microsoft account
,
surface without microsoft account
,
use surface 2 without a microsoft account
,

use surface pro without microsoft account

,

use surface without microsoft account

,
using surface pro 3 without microsoft account
,
using surface without microsoft account