My first attempt to do a reset - Questions.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by bulls96, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. bulls96

    bulls96 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    does the "refresh your pc without affecting your files" option work?

    Will it leave my apps alone?

    Or will it reinstall my apps for me?

    Will it erase my browser history and passwords and pinned websites?

    main reason I am resetting is I feel like the cache of these apps I think are getting too full, my surface is getting less responsive as time goes by.

    thanks!
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
     
  2. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    If you think it is the cache, use disk clean up and click on clean up System Files and remove from there, the only thing that is left from the refresh are the files stored in your Libraries, all apps and personal settings would need to be set by you...
     
  4. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Files and Applications are different.

    "... without affecting your files." means exactly that, files.

    There was a thread here with a complaint about losing his files, when he actually meant the applications.

    If you want to be sure, run Windows Easy Transfer and select what you want to save. That will allow you to recover them in case murphy's law hit you.
     
  5. bulls96

    bulls96 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    well that's kind of a bummer. I wonder why OS's don't reinstall your apps for you. My previous tablet the HP Touchpad with webOS did that.
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
     
  6. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Quite possibly because one of the apps may actually be the problem. By reinstalling them one at a time and seeing if you develop an issue after an app install you can confirm if that is the case. You wouldn't want whatever refresh is wiping out to be reinstalled and automatically create the problem again.
     
  7. bulls96

    bulls96 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah you're probably right. Thanks.
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
     
  8. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    Do you have another Windows 8 PC?
     
  9. bulls96

    bulls96 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes I do. Its an HP touchsmart PC.
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
     
  10. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    Then open the Store on your RT > Swipe down from top > Click on Your Apps > select Apps not installed on this PC > select what you want to reinstall
     
  11. bulls96

    bulls96 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18

    yeah it takes a long time to click on each one though and reinstall them one by one.
    Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Actually you can click on each one that is in the list and click install and it will do all of them....
     

Share This Page